Circle of Life Criteria

The Circle of Life Award honors programs that:

  • Serve people with life-limiting illness, their families, and their communities.
  • Demonstrate effective, patient/family-centered, timely, safe, efficient and equitable palliative and end-of-life care.
  • Use innovative approaches to meeting critical needs and serve as sustainable, replicable models for a segment of the field.
  • Pursue quality improvement consistent with the National Consensus Project (NCP) Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care, NHPCO Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs or other widely-accepted standards, within their resources and capabilities.
  • Address medical, psycho-social, spiritual and cultural needs throughout the disease trajectory.
  • Use innovative approaches to reach traditionally marginalized populations
  • Actively partner with other health care organizations, education and training programs, the community, providers of care, and/or insurers.
  • Use metrics that demonstrate significant impact and value for individuals, families and communities.

All organizations or groups in the United States that provide palliative or end-of-life care (hospices, hospitals, health care systems, long-term care facilities, and other direct care providers) are eligible for the award.



About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956