Awards and Recognition

The following awards are sponsored by the AHA.

AHA Leadership Awards 
AHA Leadership Awards include the Distinguished Service Award, Award of Honor, Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award, Board of Trustees Award, and Honorary Life Membership. Awards are presented in April at AHA's Annual Meeting in Washington D.C.

The American Hospital Association-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize Hospitals in Pursuit of Excellence
The goals of The American Hospital Association-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize are to raise awareness of the need for a hospital-wide commitment to highly reliable, exceptional quality, safe, patient-centered care; reward successful efforts to develop and promote a systems-based approach toward improvements in quality of care; inspire hospitals to be leaders in improving the health of their communities while enhancing outcomes and the experience of care for patients and reducing per capita cost of care; and communicate successful programs and strategies to the hospital field.

AHA NOVA Awards honor effective, collaborative programs focused on improving community health status. 

Carolyn Boone Lewis Living the Vision Awards
The Carolyn Boone Lewis Living the Vision Awards are presented to organizations and individuals living AHA’s vision of “a society of healthy communities where all individuals reach their highest potential for health.”

Circle of Life Award Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care
The Circle of Life Award honors innovative programs in palliative and end-of-life care.  All organizations or groups in the United States that provide palliative and/or end-of-life care are eligible for the award.

The Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership is presented annually to a state, regional or metropolitan hospital association which, through its programs and activities, demonstrates exceptional organizational leadership and innovation in quality improvement and has made significant contributions to the measurable improvement of quality within its geographic area. The goals of this award are to recognize outstanding efforts among allied hospital associations to improve quality; encourage allied hospital associations to play key roles in raising the level of hospital and health system performance to achieve care that is safe, timely, effective, equitable, efficient and patient-centered; and spread the learning and progress toward national health care improvement that are being promoted by allied hospital associations.

Equity of Care Award
The AHA’s Equity of Care Award is presented annually to hospitals or care systems that are noteworthy leaders and examples to the field in the area of equitable care. Honorees demonstrate a high level of success in reducing health care disparities and promote diversity in leadership and staff within their organization.

Foster G. McGaw Prize for Excellence in Community Service
The winners and finalists of the Foster G. McGaw Prize collectively paint a picture of creative, insightful, caring health delivery organizations that are exceptionally committed to improving the health and well-being of everyone in their communities. The Baxter International Foundation and the AHA sponsor the Foster G. McGaw Prize.

Hospital Awards For Volunteer Excellence
The Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE) program was established by the American Hospital Association Board of Trustees to help hospitals attract and retain volunteers by recognizing outstanding contributions of organized programs of volunteer service.

The Rural Hospital Leadership AwardThe Rural Hospital Leadership Award recognizes small or rural hospital chief executives and administrators who have achieved improvements in local health delivery and health status through their leadership and direction.


About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956