Quest for Quality Prize Overview


An American Hospital Association Award
The Quest for Quality Prize is administered by the Health Research and Educational Trust.

The goals of The American Hospital Association-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize are to raise awareness of the need for a hospital-wide commitment to highly reliable, exceptional quality, patient-centered care; reward successful efforts to develop and promote a systems-based approach toward improvements in quality of care; inspire hospitals to systematically integrate and align their quality improvement efforts throughout the organization; and communicate successful programs and strategies to the hospital field.

For 2014, one winning hospital will receive $75,000; up to two finalists will receive $12,500 each.  Other site-visited organizations (up to four) may be named Citation of Merit honorees.  All U.S. hospitals are eligible for the AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize. 

The prize honors hospitals that

  • have committed in a systematic manner to achieving the Institute of Medicine's six quality aims--safety, patient [and family]-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness, and equity;
  • can document progress in achievement of all six of the IOM aims; and
  • provide replicable models and approaches for the hospital field.


About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

325 7th Street,N.W.
Washington, DC