Governing Council and Regional Policy Board Members

Governing Council


Cynthia Kreutz
Chief Executive Officer
Spalding Rehabilitation Hospital
Aurora, CO 


Mary Beth Walsh, M.D.
Executive Medical Director/CEO
Burke Rehabilitation Hospital
White Plains, NY


Mary Blunt
VP and Administrator
Sentara Norfolk General Hospital
Norfolk, VA

Governing Council Members

  • Term Expires 2008
    • Mary Moscato, Sr. Vice President, HEALTHSOUTH Corporation, Woburn, MA
    • Eddie Howard, Vice President/COO of Rehabilitation, Specialty Hospital and Home Health Services, East Texas Medical Center, Regional Healthcare System, Tyler, TX
  • Term Expires 2009
    • Michele F. Bellantoni, M.D., Medical Director, Johns Hopkins Bayview Care Center, Baltimore, MD 
    • Steven P. Johnson, Ph.D., President, North Operating Group, St. Louis, MO
    • James Prister, President and CEO, RML Specialty Hospital, Hinsdale, IL 
    • Orianna Skomoroch, Chief Executive Officer, Kauai Region, HHSC, West Kauai Medical Center, Waimea, HI
  • Term Expires 2010
    • Karen Bankston, Ph.D., Senior Vice President, Drake Center, Cincinnati, OH
    • Peter Flemister, M.D., Director, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, Harlem Hospital Center, New York, NY
    • Lisa Pascual, M.D., Chief of Rehabilitation, Laguna Honda Hospital & Rehabilitation Center, San Francisco, CA
    • Linda Stones, R.N., Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer, Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital, Lincoln, NE

Appointed and Invited Guests

  • Richard Blankstein, Trustee, Board Chair, New England Sinai Hospital & Rehabilitation Center, Stoughton, MA
  • Kurt Hoppe, M.D., AAPM&R Representative, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • Arthur Maples, NALTH Representative, BMHCC Director of Strategic-Analysis, Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis, Memphis, TN
  • Susan McDonough, AAHSA Representative, VP Strategy & System Development, Covenant Health Systems, Inc., Lexington, MA
  • Robert Main, AMRPA Representative, President, Siskin Hospital for Physical Rehab., Chattanooga, TN

Regional Policy Board Members

  • Jack Carroll, Ph.D., Delegate, Region 2, Chief Executive Officer, Magee Rehabilitation Hospital, Philadelphia, PA
  • MaryAnn Hewston, Alternate, Region 2, Director, Meadville Medical Center, Rehabilitative Services/Admin., Transitional Care Unit, Meadville, PA
  • Charles Schauer, Ph.D., Delegate, Region 4, Vice President, Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital, Jacksonville, FL
  • Karen Utley, Alternate, Region 4, Vice President, System Services, West Tennessee Healthcare, Jackson, TN


About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956