Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services

The AHA Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services currently has more than 1,660 members from across the country and is comprised of executives from general hospitals and freestanding specialty hospitals that provide behavioral health services. The section provides forums linking members with shared interests and missions to advise AHA on policy and advocacy activities and to discuss issues of great importance to behavioral health providers and the field as a whole. These efforts are led by the Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services Governing Council. Click here to learn more about the Value of AHA membership for Behavioral Health Providers.

  FEATURED RESOURCES

Upcoming Educational Sessions

Effective Programs for Pregnant, Addicted Patients
Monday, December 15, 2014
12:30 pm Eastern (11:30 am CT; 10:30 am MT; 9:30 am PT)

Disparities in Mental Health Care Among Diverse Populations  
December 17, 2014
2:00 pm Eastern (1:00 pm CT, 12:00 pm MT, 11:00 am PT)
 

Medicare Final Rule on Psychiatric Partial Hospitalization Programs:  AHA Regulatory Advisory Nov. 21, 2014

Inpatient Psychiatric Facility PPS Final Rule: AHA Regulatory Advisory; September 8, 2014

CMS Proposed Cuts to Medicare’s Psychiatric Partial Hospitalization Program:  AHA Comment Letter; September 2, 2014

 

Section Membership

Governance

2014 Governing Council

2014 Governing Council Member Bios

Press Release: James W. Eyler to Lead AHA's Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services

2014 Governance Calendar

The Value of Membership for Behavioral Health Providers

2014 AHA Liaisons in Behavioral Health

Nominations Information

Section Members-Only Calls and Webinars Members Only
Click HERE to view the archive.

Field Leadership

Addressing Mental Health Stigma

Behavioral Health Challenges in the General Hospital: Practical Help for Hospital Leaders

Behavioral Health Case Studies on Key Issues

Community Connections - Reaffirming the Value of Hospitals

Hospitals in Pursuit of Excellence 

Support for Returning Military and Vets

Trendwatch: Important trends in the hospital & health care field

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Connecting with National Behavioral Health Organizations

 

Advocacy

AHA Advocacy Action Center

AHA Advocacy Alliances

AHA Key Issues

AHA Work on Behavioral Health Legislation & Regulation Issues

Behavioral Health Key Issues

Access to Services

Aggression & Violence

CPT Coding Changes

DSM V

Disaster Responsiveness

Evidence Based Practices

Health Reform & Behavioral Health

Integration of Physical & Behavioral Health

Medicaid Reimbursement

Medicare Reimbursement

Mental Health Parity

Quality Measures

Prescription Drug Abuse

Prevention, Early Detection, and Intervention

Reducing Readmissions

Suicide Prevention

News Items

Behavioral Health in the News

AHA News Now

Latest Issue Behavioral Health Update

Archive of Behavioral Health Update

Archive of Section Conference Call Recordings & Materials

 

About AHA

Membership

Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services

Publications

Research & Trends

Locations

155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606
312.422.3000

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956
202.638.1100

1.800.424-4301