Accreditation Organizations

American Association of Blood Banks (AABB)
AABB accreditation progam focuses on the quality and safety of collecting, processing, testing, distributing and administering blood and blood products.  Over 2000 facilities have been accredited by this program.  In addition, the AABB offers accreditation programs focusing on: cord blood services, immunohematology reference services, and parentage testing laboratories.

American College of Radiology (ACR)
The ACR developed its mammography accreditation program in 1987.  Other accreditation programs offered by ACR include:sterotactic breast biopsy, breast ultrasound including ultrasound-guided breast biopsy, computerized tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine, radiation oncology, radiography/fluoroscopy, and ultrasound. The Food and Drug Administration recognizes the mammography accreditation program as meeting the Mammography Quality Standards Act.

American College of Surgeons, Commission on Cancer (ACS-COC)
Established in 1922 by the American College of Surgeons, the Commission on Cancer accredits primarily hospital-based cancer programs.  More than 1,400 programs are now accredited. AHA is an affiliated member of the Commission.

American Osteopathic Association's Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP)
The Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP) of the American Osteopathic Association has been in existence since 1945. It is one of two (the other being the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations) accreditation organizations that has 'deeming authority' for hospitals and their clinical laboratories. It also has "deeming authority" for critical access hospitals, clinical laboratories, and ambulatory surgery centers.

American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI)
Established in 1974, the accreditation program focuses upon histocompatibility testing.  Categories include: HCS/BM transplantation –related donor, HCS/BM transplantation – unrelated donor, solid organ transplantation – cadaver donor, solid organ transplantation – live donor, genetic identification, typing for non-transplant clinical purposes, and transfusion support. 'Deeming' authority has been granted to the ASHI for its histocompatibility accreditation program by CMS.

Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care (AAALAC)
Incorporated in 1965, AAALAC's accreditation program evaluates organizations that use animals in research, teaching, or testing.  More than 640 organizations are accredited by AAALAC. AHA is a founding member and ongoing board member of this organization.

Association of Clinical Pastoral Education
The association accredits departments of Pastoral Services to train students and certifies supervisors who are qualified to teach student chaplains in hospital and health care settings.

College of American Pathologists (CAP)
CAP accreditation program focuses on laboratory accreditation with categories of general, reproductive, and forensic urine drug testing. 'Deeming' authority has been granted to CAP for its laboratory accreditation program by CMS.

Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)
CARF was founded in 1966.  Since that time, it has developed accreditation programs for adult day services, assisted living, behavioral health, employment and community services, and medical rehabilitation. More than 25,000 programs and services in more than 3,500 organizations in the United States, Canada, and Sweden have been accredited by CARF. AHA is a sponsor member of CARF.

Commission on Office Laboratory Accreditation (COLA)
COLA accreditation program focuses on laboratory accreditation – specifically: physician office, community hospital, independent, point of care testing facilities, ambulatory surgical centers, community clinics, home health services, student health services, hospices, skilled nursing facilities, and industrial laboratories. 'Deeming' authority has been granted to COLA for its laboratory accreditation program by CMS.

Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP)
CHAP's history dates from 1965 as an outgrowth of a joint venture between the American Public Health Association and the National League of Nursing. Organizations accredited by CHAP include: home health, hospitce, public health, home care aide services, private duty services, supplemental staffing services, home infusion therapy, home dialysis services, home medical equipment, pharmacy services, day care, community nursing centers, and community rehabilitation services.  CHAP has been granted 'deeming' authority for its home health and hospice accreditation programs by CMS. CHAP has accredited approximately 350 agencies.

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)
NCQA was established in 1990.  Available accreditation programs include: managed behavioral healthcare organization, managed care organization, new health plan, preferred provider organization, VA human research protection, and disease management. Certification programs are also available for credentials verification organizations, HEDIS auditors/software vendors, organizations providing utilization management or credentialing services and disease management.

URAC (American Accreditation Healthcare Commission)
URAC was founded in 1990.  Fourteen accreditation programs are offered: case management, claims processing, core accreditation, credential verification organization,  disease management,  external review organization, health call center, health network, health plan, health utilization management, health provider credentialing, health web site, workers' compensation network, and workers' compensation utilization management.


About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956