Accreditation: JCAHO


  • Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
    The present structure of the JCAHO dates back to 1951. Accreditation programs are offered for ambulatory care organizations, assisted living facilities, behavioral health care facilities, critical access hospitals, clinical laboratories, health care networks, home care organizations, hospitals, long-term care facilities, and office-based surgery practices.  A certification program is available for certain chronic diseases. 'Deeming' authority has been granted to the JCAHO for its ambulatory surgical center, home health, hospice, hospital, laboratory and managed care organizations (Medicare + choice)  accreditation programs by CMS. JCAHO has accredited more than 17,000 organizations in the United States with approximately 5000 of those organizations being hospital.
  • Shared Visions New Pathways
    This initiative is aimed at making significant changes to JCAHO’s accreditation process for health care organizations, including major consolidation of existing standards, the introduction of a self-assessment process, use of data from multiple sources to guide the on-site accreditation survey, and on-site tracking and evaluation of actual individual experiences.

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956