Resources

Professional and Technical Advisory Committees

The Joint Commission utilizes Professional and Technical Advisory Committees (PTACs) who provide advice and assistance in the development of standards and scoring guidelines for each of the Joint Commission's accreditation programs. These programs include: Ambulatory Health Care, Home Care, Hospital Accreditation Program, Long Term Care, Behavioral Health Care, and Network Accreditation Program. PTAC members are appointed to these committees based on their knowledge and involvement in that specific area. The PTAC members represent a diverse group of national health care organizations and also provide insight and advice to JCAHO as to the educational needs of their field.

The names, addresses, and e-mail addresses of AHA's current PTAC Representatives and Alternate Representatives are listed below. Please feel free to contact any of the representatives with any issues, concerns, or compliments that you may have regarding any of the specific areas on which the PTACs focus.

To send a message to all Commissioners, click here.

Ambulatory Care PTAC
Member:
Kevin Yee
Administrator
Henry Ford Medical Group
2799 West Grand Boulevard, Suite K7
Detroit, Michigan  48202-2689
Phone: (313) 916-2412
Fax: (313) 916-9487
e-mail: kyee1@hfhs.org

Alternate:
David Schweer
Manager, Business Development Health Continuum
Washoe Health System
77 Pringle Way
Finance, Mail Code Z8
Reno, Nevada 80502
Phone: (775) 982-5709
Fax: (775) 982-5927
e-mail: dschweer@washoehealth.com


Liaison:
Lauren Barnett
Phone: (312) 422-3740
Fax: (312) 422-4579
e-mail: barnett@aha.org

Behavioral Health Care PTAC
Member:
Richard T. Palmisano II
President and CEO
Retreat Health Care
Anna Marsh Lane
Brattleboro, Vermont 05301
Phone: (802) 258-3710
Fax: (802) 258-3796
e-mail: rpalmisano@retreathealthcare.org

Alternate:
Carlos Carreon, LICSW, ACSW, BCD
Regional Director, Behavioral Health
Peace Health, Lower Columbia Region
600 Broadway
Longview, Washington 98632
Phone: (360) 414-2129
Fax: (360) 414-2031
e-mail: ccarreon@peacehealth.org


Liaison: Rebecca Chickey
Phone: (615) 354- 0507 or (312) 422-3303
Fax: (615) 354-0339
e-mail: rchickey@aha.org 

Hospital PTAC
Member:
William A. Bornstein, MD, PhD, FACE
Chief Quality/Medical Officer
Emory Hospitals
Medical Director Information Services
Emory Healthcare
550 Peachtree Street, NE
Atlanta, Georgia 30308
Phone: (404) 686-2821
Fax: (404) 686-4619
e-mail: william_bornstein@emoryhealthcare.org

Alternate:
Deanna Larson, RN
Associate VP, Quality and Professional Development
Avera Health
3900 West Avera Drive
Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57108
Phone: (605) 322-4723
Fax:  (605) 322-4799
Email:  Deanna.larson@avera.org


Liaison: Lynn Gurski-Leighton, HAP
Phone: (717) 561-5308
Fax: (717) 561-5334
e-mail: lgleighton@haponline.org

Long Term Care PTAC
Member:
Jay Solomon
Vice President, Senior Services
CentraState Healthcare System
Freehold, New Jersey
Phone: (732)  303-7411
Fax: (732) 303-1240
e-mail: jsolomon@centrastate.com

Alternate:
Bonnie Williams, BSN, RN, LNHA
Subacute/Skilled Services Coordinator
Providence Hospital’s Carroll Manor Nursing&Rehab Center
1150 Varnum St, N.E.
Washington, DC 20017
Phone: (202) 269-7328
e-mail: bwilliam@provhosp.org


Liaison: Susanne Sonik
(312) 422-3308 ph
(312) 422-4590 fx
ssonik@aha.org

Health Care Network PTAC
Member:
Judie S. Snipes
Vice President, Clinical Effectiveness
Carilion Health System
Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital
1906 Belleview Street
Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone: (540) 981-7751
Fax:  (540) 983-1190
e-mail: jsnipes@carilion.com

Alternate:
Aaron Hazzard
Chief Operating Officer
Jewish Hospital
217 East Chestnut Street
Louisville, Kentucky 40202
Phone:  (502) 587-4418
Fax:  (502) 587-4537
e-mail: aaron.hazard@ihhs.org


Liaison:  Nancy Foster, VP
Phone: (202) 626-2337
Fax: (202) 626-4319
Email: nfoster@aha.org

Home Care PTAC
Member:
Robert Parker
Vice President, Home&Community Health
North Carolina Baptist Hospitals, Inc.
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston Salem, North Carolina  27157
Phone: (336) 716-5220
Fax: (336) 716-2067
e-mail: boparker@wfubmc.edu

Alternate:
David Hample
COO
Parkview Medical Center
400 W. 16th Street
Pueblo, Colorado  81003
Phone: (719) 584-4788
Fax: (719) 584-4739
e-mail: dave_hample@parkviewmc.com

 

About AHA

Membership

Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services

Publications

Research & Trends

Locations

155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606
312.422.3000

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956
202.638.1100

1.800.424-4301