RAC National Program and Contractor Information

As required by The Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006, CMS has now implemented Medicare recovery auditing in all states.  CMS awarded contracts to four regional RACs (regions noted by A, B, C and D in the map).

Before they begin auditing hospitals in a state, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and the local RAC must conduct a hospital outreach session and the RAC must have a joint operating agreement with the CMS-contracted Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) or Fiscal Intermediary (FI) for that state.  RAC audits are limited to those particular claims approved through CMS’ "new issue review" process, which are posted in advance on each of the four RAC websites.  For RAC contact information, click a region below.


RAC Contact Information

RAC Regions

Sample RAC Correspondence

CMS Additional Documentation Request Policy
As of March 15, 2012



About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956