Section for Small or Rural Hospitals

Join Us for an AHA Teleconference:

IRS Form 990 and Schedule H
Case Review and Preparation

Teleconference Date: December 9, 2008
1:00pm Eastern (12:00pm CT, 11:00am MT, 10:00am PT)
Expected Call Duration: 60 minutes

This call on IRS Form 990 and Schedule H is specifically designed for small or rural hospitals. To review, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) released final instructions for the redesigned Form 990 and 16 related schedules, including Schedule H – Hospitals, designated solely for tax-exempt hospitals. Except for the required reporting of “facility” information, Schedule H is optional for tax year 2008. However, the entire schedule is required for 2009.

I want to encourage your participation so that you are prepared to meet the IRS requirements and that you have an opportunity to review the final instructions on Schedule H, discuss its implementation, and answer questions in preparation for gathering and reporting data.

This call will feature a case example from a rural PPS hospital on gathering and reporting data for Schedule H and Community Benefit. It will feature Mary Beth Morrison and Diane Butler, Munson Medical Center, Traverse City, MI and Laura Schmidt, Director, Michigan Health and Hospital Association who has developed “Community Benefits Tracker,” software to help measure an organization's influence on the community it serves.

Copies of the final forms, instructions and worksheets for Schedule H can be found at //irs-forms. Visit //08aug-legaladvisory for AHA’s legal advisory on the IRS final instructions to Form 990, including Schedule H.

John T. Supplitt
Senior Director
AHA Section for Small or Rural Hospitals



About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956