[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Press Release

Sul Ross "S.R." Thorward to Chair AHA's Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services

Sul Ross “S.R.” Thorward, M.D., staff psychiatrist at Twin Valley Behavioral Healthcare in Columbus, Ohio, is the 2006 chair of the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services.

Thorward currently serves on the clinical faculties of the departments of psychiatry at The Ohio State University (OSU) as well as Loma Linda University in Loma Linda, Calif.  He also serves as a trustee of OSU Harding Hospital, the university’s psychiatric hospital, president of the Mental Health Association of Franklin County and is on the board of directors for the National Alliance of the Mentally Ill of Franklin County.  He is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and serves as an Ohio representative to the APA.

Thorward has served for many years on the AHA’s governing council of the Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services and as a delegate to AHA’s Regional Policy Board for Region 5.  He is a member of numerous medical and psychiatric professional organizations.

Thorward earned his bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Texas at Austin and his medical degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio.  He completed training and served as Chief Resident in psychiatry at Northwestern University in Chicago, Ill. 

Also joining the Section is Richard Palmisano II, president and chief executive officer of the Brattleboro Retreat in Brattleboro, Vt.  He was named chair-elect of the section and will assume the role of chair in 2007.  Brian L. Fitzsimmons, Ph.D., senior vice president of Saint Vincent Catholic Medical Centers (SVCMC) and executive director of SVCMC’s Behavioral Health Services in New York is the immediate past chair.

Also elected to three-year terms on the governing council were: Joan M. Herbert, administrator, Medical University of South Carolina’s Institute of Psychiatry, Charleston, S.C.; and Todd Krass, chief executive officer, Research Psychiatric Center, Kansas City, Miss.  Diane G. Stewart, chief administrative officer, Sutter Mental Health and Continuing Care Services, Sacramento, Calif. and president and chief executive officer, Sutter Health Pacific, Oahu, Hawaii was elected to a two-year term.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at www.aha.org.

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956