Press Release

Bob Harman, Ken Stella Receive AHA Board of Trustees Award

The American Hospital Association (AHA) today presented Bob Harman and Ken Stella with its 2006 Board of Trustees Award.  The award is presented to individuals or groups who have made substantial and noteworthy contributions to the work of the AHA.  

“Bob and Ken have displayed an unwavering commitment to advancing the health of individuals and communities,” said AHA President Dick Davidson.  “With more than 40 years of experience leading Grant Memorial, Bob brings a remarkable depth of knowledge around issues affecting rural hospitals to the AHA.  Ken’s health care insight helps guide Indiana’s hospitals, and health care providers across the country as they strive to improve community health.  Their contributions to the AHA have had a positive impact on the care that hospitals nationwide provide to the patients they serve.”
Harman serves as CEO of Grant Memorial Hospital, a 61-bed rural hospital in Petersburg, W.V.  Harman has held this position for over 40 years, making him the longest-tenured hospital CEO on record, according to the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE).  He first became involved with the AHA in the early 1970s, serving four terms in total on the AHA’s regional policy boards.  He has served two terms on the Governing Council for the Section for Small or Rural Hospitals, including serving as chair in 1989, and was a member of the Technical Panel on Biomedical Ethics.

Stella’s health care career began in 1968 and includes 10 years as CEO of an Indiana hospital.  He has served as president of the Indiana Hospital & Health Association in Indianapolis since 1984 and has been an active AHA member since 1987.  He has served on task forces and advisory groups on hospital and medical staff governance, pay for performance, quality and patient safety, outpatient payment and facilities standards.  Ken also was a member of the AHA PAC Steering Committee and the specialty committee on allied hospital associations.  He is a fellow of the ACHE and serves as chair of its public policy committee.  In addition, the ACHE named him Indiana’s 1994 Senior Healthcare Executive of the Year.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956