Press Release

AHA Elects New Trustee to the Board

The American Hospital Association (AHA) has elected seven new members to its board of trustees for terms beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009.  The board of trustees is the policy-making body of the AHA and has ultimate authority for the control and management of its direction and finances.

New board members include:

Tucker Bonner is president and CEO of King’s Daughters Hospital in Temple, Texas.  Before joining King’s Daughters in 1987, he was executive vice president of Hendrick Medical Center in Abilene, Texas.  Bonner also served in a variety of positions at Memorial Hospital System in Houston. With his election to the AHA board, Bonner will also serve as chairman of AHA’s Regional Policy Board 7.

He is currently chair-elect of VHA Southwest, and he serves on the board of VHA Southwest Community Health Corporation.  He is the immediate past chairman of the Texas Association of Voluntary Hospitals, and he is a past chair of the Texas Hospital Association.  Since 1991, he has served three terms as a member of AHA Regional Policy Board 7.  He is active in numerous local civic and cultural organizations.

Raymond Hino is CEO/Administrator of Tehachapi Valley Healthcare District in Tehachapi, Calif.  Tehachapi Valley is a 24-bed acute care hospital with three rural health clinic systems.  Prior to joining Tehachapi Valley, Hino was CEO/Administrator of Big Horn Hospital Association in Montana.

Hino currently serves on the AHA Region 9 Policy Board and on the boards of the California UGS Medicare Provider Committee and Kern Health Systems Medi-Cal Managed Care in Bakersfield, Calif.   For several years he has served as a member of the review panel for the Foster G. McGaw Prize.  He previously served on the board of the California Hospital Association (CHA) and as a member of its executive committee.  Hino is a former chair of the CHA Rural Health Center Advisory Board and served on the board of the Montana Hospital Association.

Paul Rutledge is president of the Central Group at HCA in Nashville, Tenn. where he is responsible for the hospital operations of 55 regional hospitals.  Previously, Rutledge served as president of HCA’s MidAmerica Division.  He has worked in various leadership positions within HCA for more than 24 years.

Rutledge serves on the board of the Federation of American Hospitals, the Jason Foundation, an organization designed to prevent teen suicide, and the Brentwood Baptist Foundation.  He was chairman of the Tennessee Hospital Association and the Brentwood Academy Board of Trustees.  

Carolyn F. Scanlan is president and CEO of The Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania.  An accomplished health care leader, Scanlan has served as the association’s president for a decade following eight years as the executive vice president of the Healthcare Association of New York State.  Previously, she was vice president for clinical and administrative services at St. Peter’s Hospital in Albany, N.Y.  Prior to that, she served in various positions with the New York State Department of Health.

Scanlan has been very active with the AHA and its affiliates as a director of Health Forum, a member of the AHA’s Operations Committee and Investment Subcommittee and the State Issues Forum as well as a board member for the Health Research and Educational Trust.  She also serves on the board of the National Alliance of Health Information Technology, the American Journal of Medical Quality and the National Forum of Women Health Care Leaders, WITF, Inc., and Harsco Corporation.

Garry L. Scheib is executive director of the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP) in Philadelphia.  He assumed the additional role of chief operation officer for the University of Pennsylvania Health System (UPHS) in 2004.  Prior to coming to UPHS, Scheib served for four years as president at both Rancocas Hospital and Zurbrugg Hospital in Burlington County, N.J., affiliates of Graduate Health System.  With his election to the AHA board, Scheib will also serve as chairman of AHA’s Regional Policy Board 2.

Active both nationally and locally, Scheib serves on the boards of The Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania (HAP) and the Delaware Valley Healthcare Council of HAP.  He is treasurer of the East Coast board of the Voluntary Hospitals of America.  Additionally, he is a member of the HUP, Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Pennsylvania Hospital and Wissahickon Hospice board of directors.  He was president of the Burlington County of Chamber of Commerce.

William C. Schoenhard has been executive vice president and chief operating officer of SSM Health Care (SSMHC) for over 20 years.   SSMHC is a large Catholic health care system that owns, operates and manages 20 hospitals and two nursing homes.  In 2002, SSMHC became the first health care recipient of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, which is awarded for performance excellence in quality achievement.

Schoenhard is the 2006-2007 chairman of the American College of Healthcare Executives, a past chairman of the Missouri Hospital Association and a past member of the AHA Regional Policy Board.  He serves on the boards of directors of the Mid America Transplant Services, Lindenwood University in St. Charles, Mo. and the Greater St. Louis Area Boy Scouts of America.  Schoenhard is also a past member of the Missouri Patient Safety Commission.

Nicholas Wolter, M.D. is chief executive officer of Billings Clinic, based in Billings, Mont.  Billings Clinic is a fully integrated health system with a charitable, tax-exempt medical foundation and research division.  Wolter, a pulmonary and critical care physician, began his practice at the Billings Clinic in 1982, which later merged with the hospital in 1993.  He worked as medical director of the hospital's intensive care unit from 1987 to 1993 before serving in leadership roles at the newly merged facility. With his election to the AHA board, Wolter will also serve as chairman of AHA's Regional Policy Board 8.

Wolter is a commissioner of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) in addition to his service in many regional and national organizations.  He served as chairman of the board of VHA Mountain States and as chairman of the board of MHA, an Association of Montana Health Care Providers and remains a board member to both organizations.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956