Press Release

Joyce Murphy to Chair Association's Metropolitan Hospitals Governing Council

Joyce Murphy, vice-chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Medical School and chief operating officer of Commonwealth Medicine in Worchester, Mass., will lead the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Section for Metropolitan Hospitals as chair of its 25-member governing council for 2007.  The Section is a forum for suburban and urban hospitals to discuss common interests and concerns and to participate in the AHA policy process.

The University of Massachusetts Medical School (UMMS) is the state's first and only public medical school.  Originally founded to provide medical education to state residents with the goal of increasing the number of primary care physicians practicing underserved areas of the state, the school has since expanded to include graduate education in biomedical sciences and nursing, graduate medical education, training in various health professions and continuing education for health care practitioners. 

UMMS' Commonwealth Medicine division offers a unique combination of academic excellence and public health service expertise, providing health care solutions ideal for the public sector and not-for profit organizations.  The programs have helped Massachusetts and many other state and local health care agencies increase the value and quality of health care, and improve access and delivery of care to at-risk and uninsured patients.  Commonwealth Medicine is a public organization prepared to meet the challenges of state and local agencies that provide underserved populations access to quality health care services.

Prior to joining the University of Massachusetts Medical School, Murphy was president of Caritas Carney Hospital, a 197-bed community teaching hospital in Dorchester, Mass. 

John Hanshaw, president of HCA Mountain Division in Cottonwood Heights, Utah, is this year's chair-elect.  Kim Hollon, executive vice president of clinical operations of Methodist Health System in Dallas, is immediate past chair.

The Metropolitan governing council advises the AHA on federal policy issues.  Elected members serve three-year terms.  Newly elected members include:  Michael Eesley, president and CEO, Centegra Health System, Woodstock, Ill.; Mark Gavens, senior vice president, clinical care services/COO, Cedars Sinai, Los Angeles, Calif.; Lynne Parker, administrator, Baptist Medical Center South, Birmingham, Ala.; and Telford Thomas, president and CEO, The Washington Hospital, Washington, Pa.  Several members were appointed for one-, two-, or three-year terms: Rita Battles, president, Long Island College Hospital, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Susan Brody, president and CEO, Bayfront Medical Center, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Pamela Meyer Davis, president and CEO, Edward Health Services, Naperville, Ill.; Christopher Mosley, president and CEO, Chesapeake Health, Chesapeake, Va.; Richard Afable, president and CEO, Hoag Memorial Hospital, Newport Beach, Calif.; Alex Valdez, president and CEO, St. Vincent Hospital, Santa Fe, N.M.; and Sylvia Young, president and CEO, Aurora Medical Center, Aurora, Colo.

The new governing council members join the following current members:  Robert A. Colvin, president and CEO, Memorial Health, Savannah, Ga.; Lee Domanico, chief executive officer, Legacy Health System, Portland, Ore.; Gary S. Horan, president and CEO, Trinitas Health & Hospital, Elizabeth, N.J.; Roger Gilbertson M.D., president, Meritcare Health System, Fargo, N.D.; Brian Gragnolati, president and CEO, Suburban Hospital Healthcare System, Bethesda, Md.; Laurence Hinsdale, president and CEO, NorthEast Medical Center, Concord, N.C.; Bruce Rueben, president, Minnesota Hospital Association, St. Paul, Minn.; Julie Quirin, president and CEO, Saint Luke's South Hospital, Overland Park, Kan.; Iris A. Taylor, president, Detroit Receiving Hospital and University Health Center, Detroit, Mich.; Robert Trefry, president and CEO, Bridgeport Hospital, Bridgeport, Conn.; and David Whitaker, president and CEO, Norman Regional Hospital, Norman, Okla.  Gregory W. Lintjer, president, Elkhart General Healthcare System, Elkhart, Ind. serves as the AHA board liaison to the section's governing council. 


About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956