Press Release

AHA Announces Annual Membership Meeting Awards

The American Hospital Association (AHA) has available through its Web site press releases highlighting several awards that the AHA and its affiliated organizations present during its 2007 Annual Membership meeting.  The releases can be found at //aha_app/press-release/most-recent.jsp.

The available press releases include:

Dick Davidson Receives AHA Distinguished Service Award
Dick Davidson, President Emeritus of the American Hospital Association (AHA) today received the organization's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award. Davidson led the national advocacy organization from 1991 to December, 2006. This award recognizes significant lifetime contributions and service to the nation's health care institutions and associations.

Edward A. Eckenhoff and Stanley F. Hupfeld to Receive AHA's Award of Honor
The AHA will present its Award of Honor to Edward A. Eckenhoff, president and CEO of the National Rehabilitation Hospital (NRH) in Washington, DC, and Stanley F. Hupfeld, president and CEO of INTEGRIS Health in Oklahoma City, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to improving the health status of communities and the nation. The award recognizes exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives. 

Michael Stephens, Deborah Freund Receive AHA Board of Trustees Award
The AHA today presented Michael Stephens, former president and CEO of Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian in Newport Beach, California, and Deborah Freund, distinguished professor of public administration at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University in New York, visiting professor of business at the Simon Graduate School of Business and visiting professor of community and preventive medicine at the School of Medicine, both at the University of Rochester, also in New York, with its 2006 Board of Trustees Award.  The award is presented to individuals or groups who have made substantial and noteworthy contributions to the work of the AHA.

AHA HAVE Awards Four Hospital Volunteer Programs
The AHA honored four hospital volunteer programs with the Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE).  The AHA HAVE Awards Program is in its 24th year and highlights the extraordinary efforts of volunteer programs and the positive impact their contributions have on the patients, hospitals, health systems and the communities they serve.  The winning facilities are:

  • Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Memorial Hospital at Gulfport, Gulfport, Miss.
  • Providence Healthcare Network, Waco, Texas
  • South Nassau Hospital, Oceanside, N.Y.


About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956