Press Release

Ed Eckenhoff to Receive AHA Award of Honor

The American Hospital Association (AHA) will present its Award of Honor to Edward A. Eckenhoff, president and CEO of the National Rehabilitation Hospital (NRH) in Washington, D.C. in recognition of his outstanding contributions to improving the health status of communities and the nation. The award recognizes exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives.  The award will be presented at a ceremony on Monday, May 7 during the AHA's annual meeting in Washington, D.C. 

Eckenhoff founded NRH in 1986, overseeing its growth from a single hospital to a medical rehabilitation network providing both inpatient and outpatient care, with unique offerings such as day treatment programs addressing conditions such as spinal cord injuries and traumatic brain injury.  The network now operates in 40 locations, providing nearly 400,000 ambulatory visits annually in addition to the hospital's more than 2,200 inpatient admissions. 

"As a patient, Ed recognized the need for specialized rehabilitative care and he answered that call through the National Rehab Hospital," said AHA President Rich Umbdenstock.  "As an administrator, he's developed a world-class care network to rehabilitate lives, helping patients with a wide range of conditions resulting in varying degrees of physical disability return to normal activities of daily living." 

Eckenhoff has been an active member of many health-related organizations and community groups across the country.  He currently serves on the District of Columbia Hospital Association Board of Directors and is the immediate past chairman of the American Medical Rehabilitation Providers Association (AMRPA).  He is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) and a former trustee and member of the Executive Committee of the AHA.

Stan Hupfeld, president and CEO of INTEGRIS Health in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, will also receive the Award of Honor this year. 

Previous Award of Honor winners include individuals such as James W. Varnum, president of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital in Lebanon, N.H., Jordan J. Cohen, M.D., president of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), Sister Mary Jean Ryan, president and CEO of SSM Health in St. Louis, Mo., Ron Anderson, president and CEO, Parkland Health & Hospital System in Dallas, Texas, Steven A. Schroeder, M.D., former president and CEO of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement.  Organizations such as Johnson & Johnson, the Institute for Safe Medication Practices and Habitat for Humanity have also been honored.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956