Press Release

Stanley Hupfeld to Receive AHA Award of Honor

The American Hospital Association (AHA) will present its Award of Honor to Stanley F. Hupfeld, president and CEO of INTEGRIS Health in Oklahoma City in recognition of his outstanding contributions to improving the health status of communities and the nation. The award recognizes exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives.  The award will be presented at a ceremony on Monday, May 7 during the AHA's annual meeting in Washington, D.C. 

Hupfeld has served as president and CEO of INTEGRIS Health since 1987 and has spent nearly 35 years operating hospitals in Texas and Oklahoma.  INTEGRIS Health comprises 12 hospitals with more than 1,800 beds, all in Oklahoma.

"Through a commitment to better health for all, Stan has transformed the delivery of health care in the communities he's served," said AHA President Rich Umbdenstock.  "At INTEGRIS, Stan's leadership and work have left an indelible mark on the health and well-being of Oklahoma.  Nationally, Stan has worked tirelessly as an advocate for hospitals and the patients they serve to address issues critical to the health care field."  
Hupfeld serves as co-chair for the Coalition to Protect America's HealthCare.  He is an ACHE fellow and serves on the Oklahoma Hospital Association's board of directors.  Hupfeld has served the AHA in several capacities including chair of regional policy board 7, member of the AHA's delivery system fragmentation task force and as a member of the AHA's Board of Trustees.

Ed Eckenhoff, president and CEO of the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Washington, D.C. will also receive the Award of Honor this year. 

Previous Award of Honor winners include individuals such as James W. Varnum, president of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital in Lebanon, N.H., Jordan J. Cohen, MD, president of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), Sister Mary Jean Ryan, president and CEO of SSM Health in St. Louis, Mo., Ron Anderson, president and CEO, Parkland Health & Hospital System in Dallas, Texas, Steven A. Schroeder, M.D., former president and CEO of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement.  Organizations such as Johnson & Johnson, the Institute for Safe Medication Practices and Habitat for Humanity have also been honored.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956