Press Release

Kathleen Hoeft to Chair Association's Small or Rural Hospital Governing Council

Kathleen Hoeft, administrator and CEO of Ashley Medical Center in Ashley, N.D., will lead the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Section for Small or Rural Hospitals in 2008.  The 22-person governing council represents small or rural hospitals in the AHA's policy process and member services initiatives.

Hoeft has served as administrator and CEO of Ashley Medical Center, a critical access hospital, since 1998.  The medical center provides a wide array of services for the community including a skilled nursing facility, hospice program, home health agency and housing for patients and community members.  While at Ashley Medical Center, Hoeft has been active in advocating for the community's health needs at the state and federal government levels.  She also worked with the North Dakota State College of Science to establish a licensed practical nurse program. 

Hoeft has served on the AHA's Small and Rural Hospitals Governing Council since 2003, during which time she was a member of AHA's Small/Rural IT Educational Advisory Group.  She is currently a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives, the North Dakota Long Term Care Association, the North Dakota Healthcare Association and the American Health Care Association and serves on the Northland Healthcare Alliance board.  Hoeft earned a bachelor's of science degree from Augustana College, in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Edward Hannon, CEO of The McDowell Hospital in Marion, N.C., is the 2008 chair-elect.  Brian Shockney, president and CEO of Memorial Hospital in Logansport, Ind., is immediate past chair.

The Section's governing council advises the AHA on federal policy issues.  Elected members serve three-year terms.  New members include:  Lynn Beasley, president and CEO, Newberry County Memorial Hospital, Newberry, S.C.; Staci Covey, administrator and CEO, Troy Community Hospital, Troy, Pa.; Harry G. Dorman, III, president and CEO, Alice Peck Day Memorial Hospital, Lebanon, N.H.; Russell W. Johnson, CEO, San Luis Valley Regional Medical Center, Alamosa, Colo.; Susan Lassiter, president, Roanoke-Chowan Hospital, Ahoskie, N.C.; Robert Moser, M.D., AAFP representative, Tribune, Kan.; Bernard A. Orman, Jr., administrator and CEO, Samaritan Hospital, Macon, Mo.; and John Remillard, president, Aurelia Osborn Fox Memorial Hospital, Oneonta, N.Y.   Also, Thomas Bell, president, Kansas Hospital Association, Topeka, was appointed to a one-year term and Susan Starling, president, Marcum and Wallace Memorial Hospital, Irvine, Ky. was appointed as the representative from the National Rural Health Association.

The new governing council members join the following current members:  Arthur Blank, CEO, Mount Desert Island Hospital, Bar Harbor, Maine; Trudy Chittick, CEO, Hot Springs County Memorial Hospital, Thermopolis, Wyo.; Ann Fagan Cook, administrator and CEO, Parkview Hospital, Wheeler, Texas; Rev. John Coursey, vice chair, Fort Washington Medical Center, Fort Washington, Md.; Mark Doak, CEO, Davis Health System, Elkins W. Va.; Robert Houser, CEO, Blue Mountain Hospital District, John Day, Ore.; Gerard Klein, president and CEO, Bucyrus Community Hospital, Bucyrus, Ohio; Robin Lake, CEO, Great Plains Regional Medical Center, Elk City, Okla.; Jim Mayo, administrator, Baptist Medical Center Nassau, Fernandina Beach, Fla.; and James G. Parrish, CEO, Humboldt General Hospital, Winnemucca, Nev.  Raymond Hino, CEO, Mendocino Coast District Hospital, Fort Bragg, Calif., serves as the AHA board liaison to the section's governing council.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956