Press Release

Paul Hofmann to Receive AHA Award of Honor

The American Hospital Association (AHA) will present its Award of Honor to Paul Hofmann, Dr.PH, president, Hofmann Healthcare Group in Moraga, Calif., in recognition of his outstanding contributions to improving the health status of communities and the nation. The award recognizes exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives.  The award will be presented at a ceremony on Monday, April 27 during the AHA's annual meeting in Washington, DC. 

With more than 40 years in health care, Hofmann has played a central role in shaping the field's understanding of ethics.  He has been an active participant in the AHA's policy development and governance, with a strategic leadership role in creating AHA's biomedical and institutional ethics policies. Hofmann is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE), a past member of its Leadership Advisory Committee, and has served as the College's consultant on health care management ethics since 1994. He continues to coordinate the annual ethics conference for the College.

"Paul has made tremendous contributions to the ongoing conversation on health care ethics," said Rich Umbdenstock, AHA president and CEO.  "His leadership, both with the AHA and beyond, has helped hospitals and the entire health care field better identify and understand the critical intersection between clinical and organizational ethics."

Prior to pursuing his interest in ethics, Hofmann was executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Alta Bates Corporation, a diversified non-profit health care system in northern California.  Hofmann also served as executive director of Emory University Hospital in Atlanta and as director of Stanford University Hospital and Clinic in Palo Alto, Calif.

The Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) in New York, N.Y., will also receive the Award of Honor this year. 

Previous Award of Honor winners include Regina M. Benjamin, M.D., M.B.A, founder and CEO of Bayou La Batre Rural Health Clinic in Bayou La Batre, Ala., Alfred G. Stubblefield, president and CEO of Baptist Health Care in Pensacola, Fla., Edward A. Eckenhoff, president and CEO of the National Rehabilitation Hospital (NRH) in Washington, D.C., Stanley F. Hupfeld, president and CEO of INTEGRIS Health in Oklahoma City, James W. Varnum, president of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital in Lebanon, N.H., Jordan J. Cohen, MD, president of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), Sister Mary Jean Ryan, president and CEO of SSM Health in St. Louis, Mo., Ron Anderson, president and CEO, Parkland Health & Hospital System in Dallas, Texas, Steven A. Schroeder, M.D., former president and CEO of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement.  Organizations such as Johnson & Johnson, the Institute for Safe Medication Practices and Habitat for Humanity have also been honored.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956