Press Release

AHA Elects New Trustee to the Board

The American Hospital Association (AHA) has elected Raymond W. Montgomery II, FACHE, President and CEO of White County Medical Center in Searcy, Ark. to its Board of Trustees for a term beginning January 1, 2010.  The Board of Trustees is the policy-making body of the AHA and has ultimate authority for the governance and management of its direction and finances.

Prior to becoming president and CEO, a position he has held since 1992, Montgomery was chief operation officer of the hospital.  Before joining White County Medical Center in 1988, Montgomery served two years as director of strategic planning and marketing at St. Elizabeth Hospital, in Beaumont, Texas.  He also served as director of marketing, communications and business development at South Community Hospital, in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Montgomery will serve as chairman of AHA's Regional Policy Board 7, which includes Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas and participates in the Association's policy development process.  He has served on the AHA Section for Small or Rural Hospitals Governing Council from 2001 until 2005 and was chairman in 2004.  He was vice chairman of the Voluntary Hospitals of America (VHA) Oklahoma/Arkansas board of directors and served on the Arkansas Hospital Association board of directors from 2001-2009 and as its chairman from 2007 to 2009. 

Montgomery will join several other trustees elected to serve for the upcoming term. 

New board members include:

  • Rhonda M. Anderson, RN, DNSc(h), is the Pediatric Administrator for Cardon Children's Medical Center in Mesa, Ariz., and Regional Pediatric Service Line Administrator for Banner Health's Arizona Region. 
  • Craig A. Becker has been president and chief executive officer of the Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) and its subsidiaries, THA Solutions Group, Inc., and the Tennessee Hospital Education and Research Foundation, since August 1993. 
  • Michael Rock, M.D., is the chief medical officer at Mayo Rochester Hospitals/Mayo Foundation in Rochester, Minn. 
  • Thomas F. Zenty III has been chief executive officer of University Hospitals in Cleveland since 2003.  He presides over a system that serves patients at more than 150 locations. 
  • Steven Goldstein is president and chief executive officer for Strong Memorial Hospital of the University of Rochester in Rochester, N.Y. 
  • Russell W. Johnson has been chief executive of San Luis Valley Regional Medical Center (SLVRMC) in Alamosa, Colo. since 2001. 

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956