Press Release

Mark Doak to Chair Association's Small or Rural Hospitals Governing Council

Mark Doak, CEO of Davis Health System in Elkins, W.V., will lead the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Section for Small or Rural Hospitals in 2011.  The 24-person governing council represents small or rural hospitals in the AHA's policy process and member services initiatives.  Doak has served in his present role since 2001.  Davis Health System includes a 90-bed hospital, 12-bed critical access hospital, skilled nursing residence and various other services.  

Doak's commitment to community and region is evident.  He makes a difference locally by actively serving on the boards of the Randolph County (West Virginia) Development Authority, Randolph County Chamber of Commerce, the Elkins Rotary Club and the Tucker County Endowment Foundation. 

In addition to his Davis Health System position, Doak is active with state and national healthcare groups.  He currently is chairman of the West Virginia Hospital Association.  His involvement with the West Virginia Hospital Association is extensive and includes work on many task forces, including the Medicaid Task Force.

A certified member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) since 1979, he has earned the Follmer Bronze, Reeves Silver, Muncie Gold and the Founders Merit Medal of Honor.  He is a past member of the HFMA Principles and Practices Board, offering insight and expertise for sound recommendations regarding financial practices. 
Staci Covey, president of Troy Community Hospital in Troy, Pa. is this year's chair-elect.  Edward J. Hannon, CEO of the McDowell Hospital in Marion, N.C., is past chair.

Members serve three-year terms. Newly elected members include: David Shannon, CEO, Penobscot Valley Hospital, Lincoln, Maine; Mary LaRowe, president and CEO, St. James Mercy Health System, Hornell, N.Y.; Carl Hanson, administrator, Minidoka Memorial Hospital, Rupert, Idaho; Cindy Turner, CEO, Bacon County Hospital & Health System, Alma, Ga.; Anne Platt, CEO, Sutter Amador Hospital, Jackson, Calif.; Carol Friesen, CEO, Crete Area Medical Center, Crete, Neb.; and Joann Anderson, president and CEO, Southeastern Regional Medical Center, Lumberton, N.C.

Members newly appointed include: Jodi A. Schmidt, CEO, Labette Health, Parsons, Kan.; Daniel Derksen, MD, Albuquerque, N.M.; Lanny R. Copeland, MD, chief medical officer, LifePoint Hospitals, Brentwood, Tenn. Thomas Bell, president, Kansas Hospital Association, Topeka, Kan., is still current representative for the State Hospital Association Executives Forum.

The new governing council members join the following current members: Alvin Hoover, CEO, King's Daughters Medical Center, Brookhaven, Miss.; Brad Smith, CEO, Rush Memorial Hospital, Rushville, Ind.; Jon Smiley, CEO, Sunnyside Community Hospital, Sunnyside, Wash.; Denver Talley, trustee representative, Grady Memorial Hospital, Chickasha, Okla.; Michael J. Ryan, president and CEO, Hillsboro Community Hospital, Hillsboro, Kan.; Paul R. Bengtson, CEO, Northeastern Vermont Regional, Saint Johnsbury, Vt.; Rodney Nelson, president and CEO, Mackinac Straits Hospital and Health Center, Saint Ignace, Mich.; James E. Buckner, administrator, Uvalde Memorial Hospital, Uvalde, Texas. Raymond W. Montgomery, II, president and CEO, White County Medical Center, Searcy, Ark., serves as the AHA board liaison to the section's governing council.

The Section's governing council advises the AHA on federal policy issues.  For a full membership list please visit

About the AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals

The AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals provides representation, advocacy and educational opportunities to help the nation's small or rural hospitals better serve the health needs of patients and communities.  The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations that are committed to health improvement in their communities.  The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include almost 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks and other providers of care.  Founded in 1898, AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956