Press Release

Jon C. Skinner to Lead AHA's Section for Long-Term Care and Rehabilitation Governing Council

WASHINGTON—January 22, 2016 Jon C. Skinner is the 2016 chair of the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) Section for Long-Term Care and Rehabilitation Governing Council. Skinner is president of Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation JV, LLP, a rehabilitation joint venture between Baylor Scott & White Health and Select Medical.  His responsibilities include the oversight of four freestanding acute rehabilitation hospitals totaling 220 beds, over 50 outpatient therapy clinics, Baylor Institute for Rehabilitation – Home Health Services, management of two inpatient rehabilitation units, and management of acute therapy services for nine Baylor Scott & White hospitals. 

The governing council comprises CEOs and senior executives from the nation’s leading hospitals representing rehabilitation, acute long-term care, skilled nursing, home health and continuing care services. As chair, Skinner will lead the section’s governing council on public policy issues of concern to post-acute and continuing care providers and AHA member service strategies. 

Skinner has served in various leadership and executive positions with Baylor for nearly 20 years. He received his bachelor of business administration degree from Hardin-Simmons University and his master of business administration degree from the University of Colorado. He is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives, and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Texas State Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Daniel Mendelson, associate chief of medicine at Highland Hospital, Rochester, N.Y., will serve as 2016 chair-elect and will assume the role of chair in 2017. Maureen Banks, chief operating officer at Spaulding Rehab Hospital Boston & The Spaulding Network, Boston, is the past chair.  

Newly elected members to the governing council include: Joan Doyle, executive director, Penn Home Care and Hospice Services, Bala Cynwyd, Pa.; Lori Jarboe, CEO, HealthSouth Lakeview Rehabilitation Hospital, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Yameeka Jones, chief executive officer, Vibra Hospital of San Diego, San Diego; Douglas Struyk, president and CEO, Christian Health Care Center, Wyckoff, N.J. and Tonja Williams, president and CEO, Continuing Care Hospital, Lexington, Ky.

The new governing council members join the following current members: Mary Armstrong, board member, Park City Medical Center, Intermountain Healthcare, Inc., Park City, Utah; Kenneth Bowman, CEO, Van Matre HealthSouth Rehabilitation Hospital, Rockford, Ill.; Nona Boyink, senior vice president for Post-Acute Services, MaineGeneral Health, Waterville, Maine; W. Lee Gentry, vice president & administrator, Baptist Health Rehabilitation Institute, Baptist Health System, Little Rock, Ark.; Derrick Jones, CEO, Lovelace Rehabilitation Hospital, Ardent Health System, Albuquerque, N.M.; Marc Lewis, Ph.D., director, Bureau of Mental Health, Mississippi Department of Mental Health, Jackson, Miss.; Curtis Ohashi, Ph.D., CEO, Select Medical Specialty Hospital, Cincinnati and Gia Smith, CEO, Central Valley Specialty Hospital, Modesto, Calif.



About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956