Press Release

AHA Announces Annual Membership Awards

WASHINGTON (April 5, 2016) – The American Hospital Association (AHA) announced today several awards that the AHA and its affiliated organizations will present during its 2016 Annual Membership meeting in Washington, May 1-4, 2016. 

The award honorees include:


William Petasnick to Receive AHA Distinguished Service Award

The American Hospital Association (AHA) will present its highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award, to William Petasnick, president and CEO, emeritus, Froedtert Health in Milwaukee. This award recognizes significant lifetime contributions and service to health care institutions and assosciations.  

Sandra Bennett Bruce and Mike Rock, M.D. to Receive AHA Board of Trustees Award

The AHA will present Sandra Bennett Bruce, past president and CEO, Presence Health, Chicago, and Michael G. Rock, M.D., professor of orthopedic surgery and former chief medical officer, Mayo Clinic Hospitals/Mayo Foundation, Rochester, Minn., with its Board of Trustees Award. The award is presented to individuals or groups who have made substantial and noteworthy contributions to the work of the AHA.

Kaiser Family Foundation to Receive AHA’s Award of Honor

The AHA will present its Award of Honor to the Kaiser Family Foundation of Menlo Park, Calif. The award is given to organizations and individuals in recognition of exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives.    

Dan Wolterman to be Presented the AHA Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award

The AHA will present its Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award to Dan Wolterman, president and CEO, Memorial Hermann Health System in Houston. The award recognizes people or organizations that have developed or introduced an influential, innovative approach to health care financing and/or health care delivery to improve access or coordination of care. 

Daniel R. Stultz, M.D., to Receive the AHA’s Honorary Life Membership Award

The AHA will present its Honorary Life Membership Award to Daniel R. Stultz, M.D., past president and CEO of the Texas Hospital Association (THA) for his contributions to hospitals and health care in America. The award recognizes individuals who have made important contributions to the health care field and who share the mission, values and goals of the AHA. 

AHA to Honor Four Hospital Volunteer Programs with HAVE Award

The AHA honors four hospital volunteer programs with the Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE). The AHA HAVE Awards Program is in its 33rd year and highlights the extraordinary efforts of volunteer programs and the positive impact their contributions have on the patients, hospitals, health systems and communities they serve.

The winning facilities are:

  • Community Service Program –“Doula Volunteer Program,” Sutter Davis Hospital/Sutter Health – Davis, Calif.
  • Fundraising Program – “Vettes to Vets,” Bedford Veterans Hospital/VA New England Healthcare System—Bedford, Mass.
  • In-Service Hospital Volunteer Program – “Storycatcher Program,” Longmont United Hospital—Longmont, Colo.
  • Community Outreach and/or Collaboration Program – “Community Care Network Health Coaches,” Winona Health—Winona, Minn.



About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956