Press Release

David Perlstein, M.D., to Chair AHA's Committee on Clinical Leadership

David Perlstein, M.D., president and CEO for SBH Health System in Bronx, N.Y., will lead the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) Committee for Clinical Leadership (CCL) as chair of its 27-member committee for 2017.

The CCL has been charged with providing clinical input to the AHA advocacy and public policy process, serving as a clinical resource on policy issues, as well as guiding the ongoing work of the AHA's Physician Leadership Forum (PLF). The CCL also is concerned with issues relating to standards and requirements for clinical education programs and activities and includes representatives from the medical, nursing and pharmacy fields.

Dr. Perlstein, a pediatrician, joined St. Barnabas Hospital in 1999 as the director of ambulatory pediatrics and most recently served as SBH’s executive vice president and CMO before being named president and CEO in July 2016.

Dr. Perlstein received his medical degree from the University of Cincinnati and then completed his internship and residency in pediatrics at The New York Hospital, Cornell Medical Center in New York City.

Cheryl L. Hoying, Ph.D., R.N., NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, senior vice president, patient services at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in Cincinnati, is this year’s chair-elect and will assume the role of chairman in 2018. Kevin Most, D.O., vice president for medical affairs and CMO at Northwestern Medicine CDH in Winfield, Ill., is immediate past chair.

Newly elected members serving three-year terms that began on Jan. 1, 2017, include: Amy Adome, M.D., M.P.H., senior vice president, clinical effectiveness, Sharp Healthcare, San Diego; Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D. FACS, university chancellor, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Neb.; Daniel A. Handel, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H., M.A.S., FACEP, CMO/executive medical director, Medical University of South Carolina Medical Center, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.; Chris R. Toler, M.D., M.B.A., FACOG, chief clinical integration officer, Owensboro Health Regional Hospital, Owensboro, Ky.; and Anthony P. Weiss, M.D., M.B.A., CMO, associate dean for clinical affairs, associate professor of psychiatry, SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, N.Y.

The new committee members join current CCL members: Scott J. Ellner, D.O., M.P.H., MHCM, FACS, president and CEO, Centura Health Physician Group, Centennial, Colo.; Richard W. Freeman, M.D., FACP, senior vice president and chief transformation officer, Eastern Maine Healthcare System, Brewer, Maine; M. Beatrice Grause, R.N., J.D., FACHE, president, Healthcare Association of New York State, Rensselaer, N.Y.; Thomas J. Hansen, M.D., M.B.A., FAAFP, chief academic officer, Advocate Health Care, Downers Grove, Ill.; Jeffrey T. Mueller, M.D., medical director, anesthesiologist and associate dean for hospital practice, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix; Christine M. Stabler, M.D., vice president of academic affairs, Lancaster General Health, Lancaster, Penn.; Patrice M. Weiss, M.D., FACOG, executive vice president and CMO, Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, Va.; Stephanie Wolf-Rosenblum, M.D., MMM, FCCP, FACP, CMO, Southern New Hampshire Health System and Granite Health Network, Nashua, N.H.; John A. Brennan, M.D., M.P.H., executive vice president and chief clinical integration officer, WellStar Health System, Marietta, Ga.; Steven I. Goldstein, president and CEO, Strong Partners Health System, Rochester, N.Y.; Marshall E. Hicks, M.D., professor and division head, division of diagnostic imaging, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, The University of Texas, Houston; Hal B. Jenson, M.D., M.B.A., founding dean, Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine and Borgess Health and Bronson Healthcare, Kalamazoo, Mich.; Linda J. Knodel, M.H.A., M.S.N., NE-BC, CPHQ, FACHE, senior vice president and CNO, Mercy Health System, Springfield, Mo.; David Marshall, J.D., D.N.P., M.S.N., R.N., CENP, NEA-BC, CNO, University of Texas Medical Branch Hospitals, Galveston, Texas; Robert J. Weber, R.Ph., Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, FASHP, FNAP, administrator, pharmacy services, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, Columbus, Ohio; Thomas R. Yackel, M.D., M.P.H., M.S. FACP, chief clinical integration officer, OHSU Partners, and associate dean for clinical affairs, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland; Allen Weiss, M.D., president and CEO, NCH Downtown Naples Hospital, Naples, Fla., serves as the AHA board representative to the CCL.

For more information, please go to

About the AHA’s Physician Leadership Forum

To help foster strong collaboration between hospitals and physicians, the AHA launched the Physician Leadership Forum (PLF) in 2011. Through the PLF, the AHA works closely with the medical community to identify best practices to deliver value-based care, and shares the findings through educational offerings and other resources. The Committee on Clinical Leadership (CCL) was created to offer clinicians a unique opportunity to participate in the AHA policy and advocacy process. For more information, visit

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956