Press Release

Ann Schumacher to Lead AHA's Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services

Ann Schumacher, FACHE, trustee, Memorial Community Hospital and president, CHI Health Immanuel Medical Center in Omaha, Neb., is the 2017 Council chair of the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) Constituency Section for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services. The Council represents 1,660 behavioral health providers across the country. During her one-year term as chair, Schumacher and the 18-person council will work with the AHA to identify ways to define and focus AHA policy, advocacy and member resources to improve the quality, efficiency and delivery of psychiatric and substance abuse services.

Schumacher is a native of Minnesota, and has served in numerous health care leadership roles throughout her more than 30-year career. With a background in nursing and specialization in mental health care, Schumacher has spent most of her career advocating for and serving those with mental illness. Currently, she leads a talented team that is committed to creating a healing experience for everyone who comes to CHI Health for care by providing a complete continuum of mental health and substance abuse services for children, adolescents, adults and seniors.

Schumacher is actively involved in the Omaha community and serves on the Board of Directors for Charles Drew, a federally qualified health center, Catholic Charities, the Lakeside Ambulatory Surgery Center, the Nebraska Spine Hospital and the Memorial Community Hospital in Blair, Neb. She is also active on the Archdiocese of Omaha’s Envisioning Committee, the JPII Leadership Council, the Archdiocese of Omaha Inner City School Steering Committee, and the Lasting Hope Recovery Center Advisory Board.

Schumacher has a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the College of St. Benedict in St. Joseph, Minn., and a Master of Science in Nursing from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, Neb., as well as a Master in Business Administration and Healthcare Leadership from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in Lincoln, Neb.

Mary Lou Mastro, FACHE, System CEO, Edward-Elmhurst Health in Elmhurst, Ill., is the chair-elect and will assume the role of chair in 2018. Wayne Young, LPC, CRC, FACHE, senior vice president, behavioral health, JPS Health Network in Fort Worth, Texas, is the immediate past-chair.

New council members are: John Eiler, Ph.D., administrative director, Barnes-Jewish Hospital Psychiatric Support Center, St. Louis; Jerry Gold, Ph.D., M.B.A., administrator, behavioral health and care line, Scripps Health, San Diego; Cynthia A. Persily, Ph.D., president and CEO, Highland Hospital Association, Highland Behavioral Health Services, Inc., Highland Health Center, Inc., and Highland Hospital Foundation, Inc., Charleston, W.Va.; John Santopietro, M.D., DFAPA, chief clinical officer, department of behavioral health, Carolinas Healthcare, Charlotte, N.C.; Mary Beth Skupien, Ph.D., VHA-CM, director, VA Medical Center, Battle Creek, Mich.; Richard Wohl, president, Princeton House Behavioral Health/senior vice president, Princeton HealthCare System, Princeton, N.J.; and Scott York, M.H.A., vice president, behavioral health services, Community Health Systems, Franklin, Tenn. 

Returning council members are: Gene E. Green, M.D., president and CEO, South Shore Health & Educational Corporation, South Weymouth, Mass.; Cindy Meyer, vice president, behavioral health, HCA West Division, Denver; Raymond A. Waller, administrator, MIDET Brighton Hospital, Brighton, Mich.; Daniel B. Coffey, president and CEO, Acadia Hospital and senior vice president, EMHS, Bangor, Maine; Joseph Miller, Ph.D./Psy.D., corporate director, neuroscience, behavioral health, orthopedics and rehabilitation medicine at Meridian Health and clinical instructor, department of psychiatry, Rutgers University Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Red Bank, N.J.; and Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., president and CEO, Sheppard Pratt Health System, Baltimore. Michelle A. Janney, Ph.D., executive vice president and chief nursing officer, Indiana University Health in Indianapolis serves as the liaison from the AHA Board of Trustees.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at

About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956