Oral History Collection

Press Release

Contact:          Sara Beazley, sbeazley@aha.org, (312) 422-2017

Fred Brown Oral History Released
First CEO of the merged BJC HealthCare in St. Louis

CHICAGO (August 1, 2016) – The Center for Hospital and Healthcare Administration History announces a new publication in the Hospital Administration Oral History series:

Fred Brown’s parents valued education.  His father, a linotype operator in small town West Virginia, had only an eighth grade education and his mother was trained as a nurse.  Each of their three children was encouraged to go to college and each took advanced degrees, in law, nursing and hospital administration.  Fred attended Northwestern University as an undergrad and then the master’s program in health care administration at George Washington University.

After serving an administrative residency with Jack A.L. Hahn, the well-known president of the Methodist Hospital of Indiana, young Fred was offered a job at Methodist, working his way up to vice president for operations.  Although he had intended a long tenure with Methodist, Fred listened to advice that he should vary his job experience and took leadership positions at Memorial Health Services in Elmhurst, Illinois, and then at Christian Hospital Northeast-Northwest in St. Louis.  His experience with building and leading a system of affiliated hospitals at Christian led to his selection as the founding CEO of the merged hospitals Barnes, Jewish and Christian in St. Louis, which resulted in BJC HealthCare.

In this comprehensive oral history interview about his life and career, Fred reminisces about lessons learned in each step along his career path.  He discusses the challenges of a major merger and shares thoughts on effective governance, leadership style and shaping corporate culture.  He describes the participation in professional organizations, particularly his service as the chairman of the Board of Trustees at the American Hospital Association.

The full text of this new oral history interview is available at no charge on the Center website at http://www.aha.org/chhah.  Other recent oral history interviews which can be found on the website include that of John G. King, Dr. Paul Batalden, Scott Parker, Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Jr., Sr. Mary Roch Rocklage, Dr. David Lawrence, Percy Allen, and Edward A. Eckenhoff.

The Center for Hospital and Healthcare Administration History was established by the American Hospital Association and the American College of Healthcare Executives and is coordinated by the AHA Resource Center in collaboration with the Health Research & Educational Trust.  For more information about the Center and its programs, visit the website or contact Sara Beazley, director, at (312) 422-2050.


Oral histories preserve the first-person recollections of leaders who shaped the past and laid the foundation for the future.  Since 1978, the American Hospital Association and the Health Research & Educational Trust have jointly sponsored an oral history project coordinated by the AHA Resource Center.  Over 90 interview transcripts are available in this oral history collection. 

In the 1980s, the oral history interviews were conducted and edited by Lewis E. Weeks, former editor of the journal Inquiry.  These interviews, known as the Lewis E. Weeks series, are fully indexed in: Index to the Hospital Administration Oral History Collection.  Selected excerpts from these interviews are also published in the book: Weeks, L.E., and Berman, H.J.  Shapers of American Health Care Policy: An Oral History.  Ann Arbor, MI: Health Administration Press, 1985.

Printed copies of the oral history transcripts may be borrowed from, or examined on-site at, the American Hospital Association Resource Center in Chicago.  For more information, please call (312) 422-2050.

Copyright notice: Visitors to this site have a non-exclusive, nontransferable, limited and revocable right to use materials posted on this site solely for the user’s personal, non-commercial use.  Materials posted on this site are copyright protected, and may not be reproduced, transmitted, published or distributed by the user without the express written consent of the copyright holder.


Published oral histories are available for the following individuals:

Chaiker Abbis (1986)
Faye G. Abdellah (1984)
John E. Affeldt (1987)
Percy Allen II (2013)
Odin W. Anderson (1984)
Ron J. Anderson, M.D. (2014)
Solomon J. Axelrod (1987)
Paul B. Batalden, M.D. (2014)
Lowell E. Bellin (1984)
Howard J. Berman (2011)
August F. Bloese (1985)
Fred L. Brown (2016)
Madison B. Brown (1985)
George Bugbee (1984)
H. Robert Cathcart (1988)
W. Montague Cobb (1984)
Wilbur J. Cohen (1984)
Edward J. Connors (1984)
John A. D. Cooper (1986)
George Crile, Jr. (1984)
Nelson H. Cruikshank (1984)
Robert M. Cunningham, Jr. (1984)
Richard J. Davidson (2010)
Leon Davis (1984)
Thomas C. Dolan (2014)
Avedis Donabedian (1984)
Edward  A. Eckenhoff (2015) Video
C. Wesley Eisele (1988)
Paul M. Ellwood, Jr., M.D. (2011)   Video
I. S. Falk (1984)
Stanley Ferguson (1994)
Gary L. Filerman (1984)
E. Evelyn Flook (1985)
Spencer Foreman, M.D. (2008)
Thomas F. Frist, Sr., M.D. (1986)
Thomas F. Frist, Jr., M.D. (2013)
Sidney R. Garfield (1986)
Aladino A. Gavazzi (1987)
Symond R. V. Gottlieb (1987)
Leo F. Greenawalt (2012)
Merwyn R. Greenlick (1988)
John R. Griffith (2010)
Frank S. Groner (1989)
Joan S. Guy (1985)
James Hague (1984)
Jack A. L. Hahn (1994)
James A. Hamilton (1984)
T. Stewart Hamilton (1987)
Miles C. Hardie (1987)
Robert L. Harman (2015)
Gerhard Hartman (1984)
John F. Horty (1989)
Everett Johnson (1993)
Lloyd R. Johnson (1987)
Richard L. Johnson (1994)
John G. King (2015)
Herbert E. Klarman (1997)
Karl S. Klicka (1984)
Sister Irene Kraus (1988)
Lowell C. Kruse (2015)

Bernard J. Lachner (1996)
Ben W. Latimer (1989)
David M. Lawrence M.D. (2013)
George F. Lynn (2014)
John Robert Mannix (1984)
Billy G. McCall (1989)
Foster G. McGaw (1985)
John Alexander McMahon (1987)
Walter J. McNerney (1984)
Matthew F. McNulty, Jr. (1998)
John S. Millis (1985)
Wilbur D. Mills (1984)
Wade Mountz (2009)
James R. Neely (1985)
Russell A. Nelson (1986)
Stanley R. Nelson (1988)
Maurice J. Norby (1984)
D. Kirk Oglesby, Jr. (2012)
Jack W. Owen (1988)
Scott S. Parker (2013) Video
Andrew Pattullo (1984)
Earl Perloff (1984)
Daniel Pettengill (1984)
Carl N. Platou (1995)
Haynes Rice (1984)
Elliott C. Roberts, Sr. (2012) Video
William T. Robinson (2011)

Sister Mary Roch Rocklage (2011)  Video
Milton I. Roemer (1985)
C. Rufus Rorem (1984)
Austin Ross (2012)
William A. Rothman (1984)
Ruth M. Rothstein (2009)
James H. Sammons (1987)
Paul J. Sanazaro (1985)
Ernest W. Saward (1987)
Sister M. Maurita Sengelaub (1986)
Sam Shapiro (1988)
Cecil G. Sheps (1993)
D. Eugene Sibery (1988)
Robert M. Sigmond (1984)
Robert M. Sigmond: Part II (2009)
Vergil Slee (1984)
Albert W. Snoke (1987)
Anne Ramsay Somers (1984)
John M. Stagl (1989)
David W. Stewart (1987)
Richard J. Stull (1984)
John D. Thompson (1992)
Robert E. Toomey (1988)
Bernard R. Tresnowski (1986)
Gail L. Warden (2010)
Lewis E. Weeks, Jr. (1993)
Myron Wegman (1989)
Donald W. Welch (1988)
Stuart A. Wesbury, Jr. (1986)
Kerr L. White (1984)
Kenneth Williamson (1984)
Ray Woodham (2010)


About AHA


Member Constituency Sections

Key Relationships

News Center

Performance Improvement

Advocacy Issues

Products & Services


Research & Trends


155 N. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, Illinois 60606

800 10th Street, N.W.
Two CityCenter, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4956