Federal Health Systems - Leadership Awards

A list of Leadership Awards distributed by the Federal Health Systems constituency group.

Federal Health Care Executive Leadership Awards

Nomination Process

2016 Awards Award for Excellence
Colonel John J. Cotton, MD, MPH, Deputy Commander, United States Air Force 18th Medical Group, Kadena Air Force Base, Okinawa, Japan

Special Achievement Award
Lt Col Brian H. Neese, MD, MPH, Commander, United States Air Force 628th Medical Operations Squadron, Joint Base Charleston, SC

2016 Award Winners - Press Release

2015 Awards Award for Excellence
Rear Admiral Terry J. Moulton, Deputy Surgeon General of the Navy, U.S. Navy Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Falls Church, VA

Special Achievement Award
Major Rett J. Reber, United States Air Force 15 Medical Group, Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickham, Hawaii

2015 Award Winners - Press Release

2014 Awards Award for Excellence
Brigadier General Charles E. Potter, Director, Manpower, Personnel, and Resources, Office of the Surgeon General, United States Air Force, Falls Church, VA

Special Achievement Award
Lt Col James D. Carrell, O.D. Chief, Department of Soldier Care, Moncrief Army Community Hospital, United States Army, Fort Jackson, Columbia, South Carolina

2014 Award Winners - Press Release

2013 Awards Award for Excellence
SES Michael A. Sabo, FACHE, Network Director, Department of Veteran Affairs New York/New Jersey Integrated Service Network (VISN 3)

Special Achievement Award
Lt Col Derek J. Larbie, United States Air Force/377th Medical Group, Kirkland Air Force Base, New Mexico

2012 Awards Award for Excellence
CAPT Maureen O'Hara Padden, MD, Commanding officer, U.S. Naval Hospital, Pensacola, FL

Special Achievement Award
CDR Matthew Case, MSC, United States Naval Hospital, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

2012 Award Winners - Press Release

2011 Awards Award for Excellence
CAPT Stephen M. Pachuta, DDS, MS, Dental Corps, Commanding Officer, U.S. Naval Hospital Yokosuka, Japan

Special Achievement Award
Lt Col Timothy J. Kosmatka, MD, United States Air Force Medical Operations Agency, Lackland Air Force Base, Texas

2011 Award Winners - Press Release

2010 Awards Award for Excellence
CAPT Cynthia J. Gantt, NC, USN, Senior Nurse Executive and Director of Nursing Services, U.S. Naval Hospital Guam.

Special Achievement Award
Lt Col L. "Michaelle" Guerrero, Commander, 82nd Medical Support Squadron/Administrator, 82nd Medical Group, Sheppard Air Force Base, Texas.

2010 Award Winners - Press Release

2009 Awards

Award for Excellence
CAPT Russell Shilling, Executive Director for Science and Technology, Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE), while assigned to National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, Maryland.

Special Achievement Award
LCDR Megan Wohr, Indian Health Service, Division of Epidemiology, National Tobacco Control Specialist, Phoenix Indian Medical Center, Arizona.

2009 Award Winners - Press Release

2008 Awards

Award for Excellence
COL. William Beninati, Commander, 59th Medical Operations Group, Wilford Hall Medical Center, Lackland Air Force Base, Texas

Special Achievement Award
MAJ. Tammie Jones, Administrator, Department of Medicine, Brooke Army Medical Center, Ft. Sam Houston, Texas

2008 Award Winners - Press Release

2007 Awards

Award for Excellence
LTC Dawn Garcia, Head Nurse, Combined Intensive Care Unit, Landstuhl Regional Medical Center, Landstuhl, Germany

Special Achievement Award
COL. Jimmie O. Keenan, Chief of Staff, Army Medical Action Plan, Army Medical Department, Office of the Surgeon General, Falls Church, VA.

2007 Award Winners - Press Release

2006 Awards

Award for Excellence
Bruce Alan Gordon, MSHA, Medical Center Director, Central Texas Veterans Health Care System, Temple, Texas

Special Achievement Award
Shelly Rae Harris, Chief Executive Officer, Rosebud Comprehensive Healthcare Facility, Rosebud, South Dakota

2005 Awards

Award for Excellence
Captain Matthew L. Nathan, Medical Corps, U.S. Navy, Commanding Officer, Naval Hospital Pensacola, Pensacola, Florida

Special Achievement Award
Robert M. Kolodner, MD, Chief Health Informatics Officer, Veterans Health Administration Office of Information, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Washington, D.C

2005 Award Winners - Press Release

2004 Awards

Award for Excellence
Stanley Q. Johnson, Director, Tomah VA Medical Center, Tomah, WI

Special Achievement Award
CDR Mark D. Turner, USN, MC, Director for Clinical Operations, Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Washington, DC

2004 Winners - Press Release

2003 Awards

Award for Excellence
Capt. William M. Heroman, MD, FAAP, CPE, Force Surgeon, Commander Naval Surface Force
Coronado, California

Special Achievement Award
Lt. Col. Richard N. Terry, CAAMA, Hospital Administrator, U.S. Air Force's 10th Medical Group at the U.S. Air Force Academy Colorado

2003 Award Winners - Press Release

2002 Awards

Award for Excellence
Jacqueline Parthemore, MD, Chief of Staff and Medical Director, Veterans Administration San Diego Healthcare System (VASDHS), San Diego, California

Special Achievement Award
Major Patrick L. Dawson, Associate Director, Medical Service Corps, Headquarters United States Air Force, Office of the Air Force Surgeon General, Bolling AFB, Washington, DC

2001 Awards

Award for Excellence
Kenneth J. Clark, network director of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Desert Pacific Healthcare Network in Long Beach, Calif

Special Achievement Award
Shirley R. Stoner, RN, Director of Public Health Nursing, Chinle Hospital, Indian Health Service, Chinle, Arizona

2001 Award Winners - Press Release

2000 Awards

Award for Excellence
Colonel Allen W. Middleton, Assistant Surgeon General, Medical Programs and Resources, and Chief, Medical Service Corps, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Bolling Air Force Base, DC

Special Achievement Award
Kim W. Hamlett, Ph.D., Associate Director for HIV Prevention, Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration, Office of Public Health and Environmental Hazards, AIDS Service, Washington, DC

2000 Award Winners - Press Release

1999 Awards

Award for Excellence
Rear Admiral Stephen Todd Fisher, MSC, Deputy Chief, Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Deputy Surgeon General of the Navy, Washington, DC

Special Achievement Award
Vida Khow, RN, MPH, Chief Executive Officer, Winslow Indian Health Center, Public Health Service

1999 Press Release

1998 Awards

Award for Excellence
James J. Farsetta, FACHE, Director, New York/New Jersey Veterans Healthcare Network, (VISN 3), Department of Veterans Affairs

Special Achievement Award
Lieutenant Colonel Douglas Anderson, Commander, Medical Support Squadron, 56th Medical Group, 56th Fighter Wing, Luke Air Force Base, AZ



Related Resources