Event Format

Webinar

Date

Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 12:00 PM – Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 01:00 PM

Cost

Free for all

Type

Sponsored Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Description

Thursday, February 25 at 12:00 pm ET (11:00 am CT, 10:00 am MT, 9:00 am PT)

During the COVID-19 pandemic, there were notable differences in hospital-acquired infections (HAIs) and antimicrobial use, as both were reported in medical literature and public health venues. This webinar will focus on the observed surge capacity issues during the pandemic and summarize the available medical literature on HAIs and antimicrobial/diagnostic stewardship issues that were highlighted during the pandemic. The second half of the webinar will focus more on insights from key opinion leaders from two health care systems that will discuss the changes in cross functional antimicrobial/diagnostic stewardship and infection prevention programs, which also affect administrative efforts in these regulated areas. Our speakers will also highlight process improvement areas and drug utilization and resistance issues that arise in surge capacity situations during a pandemic or yearly influenza seasons. Though given the unprecedented experiences, leadership and resiliency have surfaced to the top to help drive change and process improvement.

Learning Objectives:

  • Review the HAI and resistance trends surrounding operational issues in antimicrobial and diagnostics use
  • Learn about the COVID-19 impact on improving antibiotic stewardship program and infection prevention workflows and metrics
  • Discuss resource optimization insights to protect both patients and health care workers
  • Describe COVID-19 and future surge capacity planning for cold and flu season

Sponsored By