

Section for Health Care Systems 2018 Regional Policy Board Representatives

Nine Regional Policy Board (RPBs) meet three times a year to foster communication between the AHA, its members, and state hospital associations. The RPBs provide input on public policy issues considered by the Board of Trustees, serve as ad hoc

policy development committees when appropriate, and identify needs unique to a region and assist in developing programs to meet those needs. The following executives were nominated by the Health Care Systems Council to serve on a respective RPB and approved by the AHA Board of Trustees.

Region 1

Delegate

Michael Lauf (2016-18) President and CEO Cape Cod Healthcare Inc. Hyannis, MA

Alternate Delegate

John Murphy, MD (2016-18) President Western Connecticut Health Network Danbury, CT

Region 2

Delegates

Thomas Buckingham (2016-18) Executive Vice President Select Medical Corporation Mechanicsburg, PA

David Goldberg (2017-19) Executive Vice President Allegheny Health Network Pittsburgh, PA

James Tsai, MD (2017-19)
President
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary,
Mount Sinai Health System
New York, NY

Alternate Delegates

Eric Bieber, MD (2016-18) President and CEO Rochester Regional Health System Rochester, NY Bruce J. Flanz (2017-19) President and CEO MediSys Health Network Jamaica, NY

Israel Rocha, Jr. (2018-19) Chief Executive Officer New York City Health + Hospitals/Elmhurst New York, NY

Delegates

Daniel Lauffer, FACHE (2017-19) President and CEO Thomas Health System South Charleston, WV

Michael Waldrum, MD (2018-20) President and CEO Vidant Health Greenville, NC

Alternate Delegates

David J. Masterson, FACHE (2018-20) President Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center (Sentara Healthcare) Williamsburg, VA

Pamela Sutton Wallace (2017-19) Chief Executive Officer UVA Medical Center (UVA Health System) Charlottesville, VA

Region 4

Delegates

Clisby Hall Barrow, JD (2016-18) Senior Advisor, Health Policy Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, TN Bruce Holstein (2016-18)

President

Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System

Spartanburg, SC

Alternate Delegate

Jeff Bromme (2017-18)

Executive Vice President and General Counsel Adventist Health System Sunbelt Health Care

Corporation

Altamonte Springs, FL

Sanford Cohen, MD (2017-18)

Chair, Board of Directors

Lee Health

Ft. Meyers, FL

Region 5

Delegates

Jason R. Fahrlander, FACHE (2018-20) Executive Vice President & President, Acute Care Services Community Health Network

Indianapolis, IN

Michael Lappin (2017-18)

Chief Administrative Officer

Aurora Health Care

Milwaukee, WI

Diane Postler-Slattery (2017-19)

President and CEO

Mid-Michigan Health

Midland, MI

Alternate Delegate

Christina Freese-Decker, FACHE (2016-18)

President

Spectrum Health Hospital Group

Grand Rapids, MI

Nerraj Kanwal, MD (2017-19)

Interim President, ProMedica Defiance

Regional Hospital and Senior Vice President,

Inpatient and Retail Pharmacy

ProMedica Health System

Sylvania, OH

Nancy Susik, FACHE (2018-20)

Senior Vice President

Beaumont Health System

Troy, MI

Region 6

Delegates

John Antes (2017-19)

President

Missouri Baptist Medical Center

(BJC Heatlhcare)

St. Louis, MO

Patricia A. Maryland, Dr. P.H. (2016-18)

President and CEO

Ascension Health

St. Louis, MO

Alternate Delegates

Jeff Johnson (2017-19)

Chief Executive Officer

Mercy Hospital (Mercy Health)

St. Louis, MO

Kevin Vermeer (2017-18)

President and CEO

UnityPoint Health

West Des Moines, IA

Region 7

Delegates

C. David Huffstutler (2016-18)

President and CEO

St. David's Healthcare

Austin, TX

Sally Hurt-Deitch (2017-19)

Chief Executive Officer

Sierra Providence East Medical Center

(TENET Healthcare)

El Paso, TX

Greg Stubblefield (2016-18)

Vice President, Clinical Services

Baptist Health Medical Center (Baptist Health)

Little Rock, AR

Alternate Delegates

Michael Hulefeld (2016-18)

Chief Operating Officer

Ochsner Health System

New Orleans, LA

Roberta Schwartz, Ph.D. (2016-18)

Executive Vice President

Houston Methodist Hospital (Houston Methodist)

Houston, TX

Lynn Sund (2017-19)

Chief Nurse Executive & Senior Vice President

Saint Francis Health System

Tulsa, OK

Region 8

Delegate

Pamela Nicholson (2016-18) Senior Vice President, Strategic Integration Centura Health Englewood, CO

Alternate Delegate

David Price (2016-18) Executive Vice President HonorHealth Scottsdale, AZ

Region 9

Delegates

Scott Kelly (2017-19) Chief Executive Officer Rogue Regional Medical Center (Asante Health) Medford, OR

Alternate Delegate

Jason C. Chang (2018-20) Executive Vice President and COO, The Queen's Health Systems and The Queen's Medical Center, Honolulu, HI

Gary G. Fybel, FACHE (2017-19) Chief Executive & Senior Vice President Scripps Memorial Hospital (Scripps Healthcare) La Jolla, CA