

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Marie Watteau, (202) 626-2351 Elizabeth Lietz, (202) 626-2284

James Dickson Receives AHA's Shirley Ann Munroe Leadership Award Finalists from Manitowoc, Wis., Wagner, S.D., and St. Johns, Mich., Also Recognized

WASHINGTON (November 9, 2011) – James Dickson, CEO of Copper Queen Community Hospital (CQCH) in Bisbee, Ariz., is the 2011 winner of the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Shirley Ann Munroe Leadership Award. The award recognizes the accomplishments of small or rural hospital leaders who have improved health care delivery in their communities through innovative and progressive efforts.

Under his leadership, CQCH has been able to uphold its mission to maintain and support access to basic primary health care throughout the community by providing leadership and vision to address opportunities and challenges in health care delivery. Located in a geographically remote area of Arizona near the U.S. border with Mexico, the 14-bed acute-care critical access hospital (CAH) is the largest non-governmental employer in Bisbee. Reaching beyond the main campus, the hospital operates Copper Queen Medical Associates, three rural health clinics in Bisbee, Douglas and Palominas. This network of coordinated care is vital for the aging population of Cochise County, where many residents face complicated chronic health issues.

Through collaboration and innovation, Dickson continuously and successfully meets the needs of the community in a changing health care environment. Through leadership and vision, Dickson

makes expanding access to quality health care a top goal. With many unemployed, underemployed and immigrant patients who do not have insurance, CQCH must constantly work to find needed resources. Dickson has formed coalitions seeking funding to care for the rural population, including a recent effort to pool monies with other rural hospitals in Arizona to receive matching federal funds. Dickson has greatly expanded CQCH's use of IT through electronic health records, securing funding for radiology diagnostic imaging and home health telemedicine.

This year, the Shirley Ann Munroe Leadership Award also recognized three finalists for their significant achievements in service to their community:

- Ed Bruun, president and CEO of Sparrow Clinton Hospital in St. Johns, Mich., since 2004, has helped transition the hospital into a thriving community facility that is nationally recognized for its quality, patient satisfaction, innovation and community engagement. Under Bruun's leadership, Sparrow Clinton Hospital has increased access to care through expanded specialty services and unique programs to combat childhood obesity and support cancer patients. Additionally, Bruun has been the driving force behind the Clinton County Healthy Community Coalition, a group of more than 20 agencies that organizes an annual health fair, Safe Kids child safety programs and monthly food distribution.
- Mark Herzog has served as president and CEO of Holy Family Memorial (HFM) in Manitowoc, Wis., since 2001. Herzog has led a culture of innovation, improvement and proactive collaboration through the use of the "Innovative Prescription" program among HFM's 1300 employees and physicians, which encourages everyone to submit ideas for growth, improvement and enhancement. Through this program and the hospital's commitment to improving the health of the community, Herzog has implemented a Concussion Care and Awareness Program with the local high schools. Herzog also placed primary care clinics in remote areas of the county and even within the walls of a local retirement resident and nursing home to ensure health care access to those in need.
- **Bryan Slaba** has accomplished a great deal in the three years that he has served as CEO of Wagner Community Memorial Hospital Avera (WCMH-A) in Wagner, S.D.

Through his strong leadership and "patient first" mantra, Slaba has enabled WCMH-A to build stronger relations with its underserved community to implement telemedicine and eCare services, which have been invaluable to the ED management team; this while becoming one of six hospitals in South Dakota to offer full digital imaging services and coordinating with local organizations to establish the Southern Charles Mix County Healthcare Consortium.

Shirley Ann Munroe Award

Shirley Ann Munroe was an advocate for small and rural hospitals and was instrumental in the creation of the AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals, a forum working to support small and rural hospitals as they improve their community's health.

The award is sponsored by the AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals. It is presented annually to a hospital administrator or chief executive officer who has displayed outstanding leadership in meeting the ongoing challenge of small or rural hospital management. Last year's award recipient was Colleen "Casey" Meza, CEO of Clearwater Valley and St. Mary's Hospitals in Orofino, Idaho.

About AHA

The American Hospital Association (AHA) is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which includes more than 4,800 hospitals, health care systems, networks, and other providers of care, and 42,000 individuals. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at www.aha.org.