

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 16, 2014

Contact: Carly Moore, (202) 638-5487 Elizabeth Lietz, (202) 626-2284

PAUL R. BENGTSON TO LEAD AHA'S SECTION FOR SMALL OR RURAL GOVERNING COUNCIL

WASHINGTON — Paul R. Bengtson, chief executive officer of Northeastern Vermont Regional Hospital in St. Johnsbury, Vt., will lead the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Section for Small or Rural Hospitals in 2014. The 21-person governing council represents small or rural hospitals in the AHA's policy process and member services initiatives.

Serving in his current position since 1986, Bengtson has accomplished more than just gaining 26 years of health care management experience. The hospital owns and manages several rural health clinics, helping to increase access to care in Vermont's Northeast Kingdom. In doing so, Bengtson collaborated with the Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) Northern Counties Health Care. Bengtson is committed to the goals of population health improvement.

In addition to his work at the hospital, Bengtson is a member of the Vermont Health Care Innovation Project Core Team, a statewide initiative. He was chosen as Citizen of the Year by the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont Chamber of Commerce. He is a professional certified fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives. An infantryman Vietnam War veteran, Bengtson is married with three daughters and enjoys traveling and spending time outdoors.

Bengtson attended Wheaton College in Wheaton, Ill. as an undergraduate. He went on to earn a master's degree in literature from City College in New York City and a master of business administration in healthcare administration from the Baruch-Mt. Sinai School of Medicine. He is board certified in Healthcare Management and is a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives. Bengtson began his professional career in New York City as a caseworker in Harlem and the Bronx for New York City Department of Social Services. Additional health care experience was gained at Beth Israel Medical Center, the Lutheran Medical Center, and the Queensbridge Health Maintenance Center for the Elderly and the Jackson Heights Child Health Center. He has held administrative positions at York Hospital in York, Maine; Springfield Community Hospital in Springfield, Mo.; and Harris Hospital in Newport, Ark. He was transferred by American Medical International to manage the organization's efforts to direct Harris Hospital's operational performance onto a sustainable path forward.

Joann Anderson, president and chief executive officer of Southeastern Regional Medical Center in Lumberton, N.C., will serve as chair-elect and will assume the role of chair in 2015. Alvin Hoover, chief executive officer, King's Daughter Medical Center, Brookhaven, Miss., is the immediate past chair. Larry W. Veitz, chief executive officer, Spearfish Regional Hospital, Spearfish, S.D. is the liaison to the governing council from the AHA Board of Trustees.

Newly elected to three-year terms expiring in 2016 on the governing council include: **Daniel Derksen, M.D.**, University of Arizona Public Health Policy and Management College of Public Health, Tuscon, Ariz.; **Warren West**, chief executive officer, Littleton Regional Hospital, Littleton, N.H.; **Jason F. Hawkins**, president and chief executive officer, Fulton County Medical Center, McConnellsburg, Pa.; **Mark Webster**, president and chief executive officer, Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center, Ogdensburg, N.Y.; **Cheryl M. Hays**, administrator, Marshall Medical Center North, Guntersville, Ala,; **Jason Merkley**, chief executive officer, Brookings Health System, Brookings, S.D.; **Jason Spring**, North Valley Hospital, Whitefish, Mont., and **John G. Williams**, chief executive officer, Barton Memorial Hospital, South Lake Tahoe, Calif.

The new governing council members join the following current members: Verna S. Meacham, president and chief executive officer, Nexus Health, National Harbor, Md.; Rachelle Schultz, president and chief executive officer, Winona Health, Winona, Minn.; Patrick Wallace, administrator, East Texas Medical Center Athens, Athens, Texas; Ted Stubblefield, trustee representative, NorthCrest Medical Center, Springfield, Tenn.; Peter Hofstetter, chief executive officer, Holy Cross Hospital, Taos, N.M.; Robert Senneff, president and chief executive officer, Graham Hospital, Canton, Ill.; Mary Ellen Pratt, chief executive officer, St. James Parish Hospital, Lutcher, La.; Susan Davila, president and administrator, Carson Valley Medical Center Hospital, Gardnerville, Nev. and Dan Perdue, president, Wyoming Hospital Association, Cheyenne, Wyo.

About the AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals

The AHA's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals provides representation; advocacy and educational opportunities to help the nation's small or rural hospitals better serve the health needs of patients and communities. The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations that are committed to health improvement in their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include almost 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks and other providers of care. Founded in 1898, AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which includes nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA Web site at <u>www.aha.org</u>.