Sens. Charles Grassley (R-IA), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) Friday introduced AHA-supported legislation (S. 607) that would extend the Rural Community Hospital Demonstration for five years. The program enables rural hospitals with fewer than 51 acute-care beds to test the feasibility of cost-based reimbursement. Currently, 23 small rural hospitals participate. A companion bill (H.R. 672) was introduced in the House last month by Rep. Don Young (R-AK).