Event Format

Webinar

Date

Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 02:00 PM – Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 03:00 PM

Cost

Free

Type

Webinars

Event Host

American Hospital Association

Contact Information

Laura Castellanos
+1 (312) 422-3203

Description

What is Trauma-informed Care?

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

2 - 3 p.m. Eastern; 1 – 2 p.m. Central; 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. Pacific

The American Hospital Association’s Hospital Against Violence initiative, in collaboration with HEAL Trafficking and Jones Day, hosts this webinar to provide health care professionals an understanding of trauma-informed care and explore the intersection of trauma, resilience, and health. Clinicians from the Brigham and Women’s Hospital’s C.A.R.E. Clinic (Coordinated Approach to Resilience and Empowerment) and the BWH Fish Center for Women's Health share ways to practice trauma-informed care and ways to measure the effectiveness of this approach.  The C.A.R.E. Clinic uses a trauma-informed and patient-centered framework to assist victims of domestic and sexual violence and human trafficking.

 

Speakers:

 

Eve Rittenberg, MD

Primary Care Physician,  Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School

 

Annie Lewis-O’Connor, PhD, NP-BC, MPH, FAAN

Founder & Director, C.A.R.E. Clinic

Associate Scientist, Division of Women’s Health, Dept. of Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Co-Chair, Partners Healthcare Trauma-Informed Care Initiative

Professor, Harvard Medical School