The American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion Award  recognizes those hospital leaders who most effectively educate elected officials on how major issues affect the hospital’s vital role in the community, who have done an exemplary job in broadening the base of community support for the hospital and who are tireless advocates for hospitals and their patients.


The 2016 Grassroots Champions are:


Alabama – A. Elizabeth Anderson

Administrator, USA Medical Center


Alaska – Julie Taylor

Chief Executive Officer, Alaska Regional Hospital


Arizona – Julia Strange

Vice President of Community Benefit, TMC HealthCare


Arkansas – Corbet Lamkin

Chairman, Ouachita County Medical Center


California – Christopher Manson

Regional Director, Northern California, Advocacy, Government Relations & Public Policy,

St. Joseph Health


Colorado – Konnie Martin

Chief Executive Officer, San Luis Valley Health


Connecticut – Stuart Rosenberg

President, Johnson Memorial Medical Center


District of Columbia – Amy Freeman

Chief Executive Officer, Ascension Community Health


Delaware – Tom Brown

Senior Vice President, Nanitcoke Memorial Hospital


Florida – Steven Johnson

President & CEO, Health First


Georgia – John Haupert

Chief Executive Officer, Grady Health System


Hawaii – Phyllis Dendle

Director of Government Relations, Kaiser Permanente Medical Center


Idaho – Rachel Gonzales

Chief Executive Officer, Madison Memorial Hospital


Illinois – Kenneth Boyd

President & CEO, McDonough District Hospital


Indiana – Brian Bauer

Chief Executive Officer, Lutheran Hospital of Indiana and Lutheran Health Network


Iowa – Karen Cole

President & CEO, Shenandoah Medical Center


Kansas – Carrie Saia

Chief Executive Officer, Holton Community Hospital


Kentucky – Lori Jarboe

Chief Executive Officer, HealthSouth Lakeview Rehabilitation Hospital


Louisiana – Phyllis Peoples

President & CEO, Terrebonne General Medical Center


Maryland – Steven Sharfstein, M.D.

President & CEO, Sheppard Pratt Health System


Massachusetts – Peter Holden

President & CEO, Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital


Michigan – James Falahee, Jr.  

Senior Vice President of Legal & Legislative Affair, Bronson Healthcare Group


Minnesota – Steven Mulder, M.D.

President & CEO, Hutchinson Health


Mississippi – Daryl Weaver

Interim Chief Executive Officer, Baptist Medical Center Leake


Missouri – Paula Baker

President & CEO, Freeman Health System


Montana – Jason Spring

Chief Executive Officer, North Valley Hospital


Nebraska – Daniel McElligott

President, CHI Health St. Frances


Nevada – Brian Brannman

Senior Vice President of Operations, Nevada, President & CEO Siena Campus, Dignity Health St. Rose Dominican


New Hampshire – Chris Accashian

Chief Executive Officer, Parkland Medical Center


New Jersey – Lisa Morina

Vice President, Marketing & External Relations, Kennedy Health


New Mexico – Feliciano Jiron

Chief Executive Officer, Los Alamos Medical Center


New York – Joseph McDonald

President & CEO, Catholic Health System


North Carolina – Douglas Luckett

President & CEO, CaroMont Health


North Dakota – Matt Grimshaw

President, CHI St. Alexius Health Williston


Ohio – Chip Hubbs

President & CEO, Memorial Health


Oklahoma – James Moore

President, Integris Southwest Medical Center


Oregon – Carol Bradley

Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer, Legacy Health


Pennsylvania – David Scott

President & CEO, Ohio Valley Hospital


Puerto Rico – Joaquin Rodriguez

Chairman & CEO, Grupo HIMA San Pablo Inc.


Rhode Island – Lester Schindel

Chief Executive Officer, CharterCare Health Partners


South Dakota – Timothy Tracy

Chief Executive Officer, Sanford Vermillion Medical Center


Tennessee – H. Alan Watson

Chief Executive Officer, Maury Regional Health System


Texas – Glenn Robinson

President, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center-Hillcrest


Utah – Mark Dalley

Administrator, Gunnison Valley Hospital


Vermont – Jill Berry Bowen

Chief Executive Officer, Northwestern Medical Center


Virginia – James Cole

Chief Executive Officer, Virginia Hospital Center


Washington – Eric Lewis

Chief Executive Officer, Olympic Medical Center


West Virginia – Christopher Colenda, M.D.

President & CEO, West Virginia United Health System


Wisconsin – Michael Wallace

President & CEO, Fort HealthCare


Wyoming – Gerard Klein

Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Hospital of Sweetwater County


Related News Articles

U.S. life expectancy fell by an average of 1.5 years in 2020 to 77.3 years, primarily due to COVID-19, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported…
Reps. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill., Tom Cole, R-Okla., G.K. Butterfield, D-N.C., and Markwayne Mullin, R-Okla., today launched the bipartisan Congressional Social…
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Saturday recommended clinicians consider monkeypox in patients with symptoms who traveled from Lagos Murtala…
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Texas Department of State Health Services yesterday confirmed a case of human monkeypox in a U.S. resident…
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention today released recommendations and guidance for treating plague, which has a high fatality rate if untreated but…
The House Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Health today voted to advance to the full committee a number of AHA-supported bills focused on maternal health…