At this week’s AHA Annual Membership Meeting, the association recognized people and organizations that improve America’s health care. Among the major awards presented at the meeting were:de Filippi

The Distinguished Service Award. The AHA’s highest honor was presented to Richard P. de Filippi, who served as AHA chairman in 2010. The award recognizes significant lifetime contributions and service to the nation’s health care organizations and associations. To see a video, visit

JohnsonThe Award of Honor. The AHA presented its Award of Honor to Spencer Johnson, president of the Michigan Health & Hospital Association, and to the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Princeton, N.J. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the health and well-being of the community through leadership on a major health policy or initiative.


The Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE) went to:

  • “Fairview’s Youth Grief Services,” Fairview Health Services in Minneapolis, for Community Service Programs.
  • “Victory Band,” Detroit Veterans Affairs Healthcare System, for In-Service Hospital Volunteer Programs.
  • “Tails on the Trails Walk-A-Thon,” Tri-City Medical Center in Oceanside, Calif., for Fundraising Programs.

“Senior Health Insurance Information Program,” Unity Point Health-St. Luke’s Hospital in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, for Community Outreach/Collaboration Programs.

LindenThe Board of Trustees Award. Todd Linden, president and CEO of GrinnellRice (Iowa) Medical Center, and Timothy Rice, CEO emeritus of Cone Health System in Greensboro, N.C., received the Board of Trustees Award. The award recognizes individuals or groups who have made substantial and noteworthy contributions to the work of the AHA.


SteeleThe Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award. Glenn Steele, Jr., M.D., president and CEO of Geisinger Health System in Danville, Pa., received the Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award. The award recognizes people who have developed innovative approaches to health care financing and delivery that improve the coordination of care and access to care. 


Beaman and Skogsbergh

Related News Articles

Thirty-three emerging hospital and health system leaders from 20 states will participate in the inaugural class of the AHA’s Next Generation Leaders Fellowship…
The Health Resources and Services Administration today awarded $117 million in grants to expand HIV prevention and treatment services in high-risk areas…
The next Age-Friendly Health System Action Community will commence March 25 and run through October, offering free monthly webinars and an in-person…
The Association for the Healthcare Environment, an AHA professional membership group, recently presented its 2019 awards for excellence in caring for the…
The Aspen Institute recently chose AHA Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer Jay Bhatt, D.O., to participate in its Health Innovators Fellowship.…
During the AHA’s Annual Membership Meeting in Washington, D.C., Michael Rodgers, former senior vice president of the Catholic Health Association of the United…