Cheryl Hoying to Chair AHA’s Committee on Clinical Leadership

WASHINGTON (January 26, 2018) – Cheryl L. Hoying, Ph.D., R.N., NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, senior vice president of Patient Services at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in Cincinnati, O.H., will lead the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) Committee on Clinical Leadership (CCL) as chair of its 27-member committee for 2018.


The CCL has been charged with providing clinical input to the AHA advocacy and public policy process, serving as a clinical resource on policy issues, as well as guiding the ongoing work of the AHA's Physician Alliance. The CCL also is concerned with issues relating to standards and requirements for clinical education programs and activities and includes representatives from the medical, nursing and pharmacy fields.


Adam L. Myers, M.D., FACHE, CHCQM, CPHRM, senior vice president, chief medical officer, and chief operating officer of Texas Health Physicians Group in Arlington, T.X., is this year’s chair-elect and will assume the role of chairman in 2019. David Perlstein, M.D., president and CEO for SBH Health System in Bronx, immediate past chair.


Newly elected members serving three-year terms that began on Jan. 1, 2018, include:

Kenneth J. Cochran, DSc, R.N., M.B.A., president and CEO, Opelousas General Health System, Opelousas, L.A.; Jason Cohen, M.D., chief medical officer, North Valley Hospital, Whitefish, M.T.; Paul Hicks, M.D., MSHCM, vice president of clinical and physician affairs, Ohio Hospital Association, Columbus, O.H.; Donna D. Poduska, M.S., R.N., NE-BC, NEA-BC, vice president and chief nursing officer, Poudre Valley Hospital, Fort Collins, C.O.; Kari Quickenden, Pharm.D., chief clinical officer, Memorial Hospital of Sweetwater County, Rock Springs, W.Y.; Robert V. Rose, R.N., M.S., NEA-BC, chief nurse executive, Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.; William C. Wilson, M.D., chief medical officer, UC Irvine Health, Orange, C.A.. Newly elected member serving a two-year term beginning September 2017, Roxie C. Wells, M.D., president, Bladen and Hoke Healthcare/Hospitals, Elizabethtown, N.C.


The new committee members join current CCL members: Amy Adome, M.D., M.P.H., senior vice president, clinical effectiveness, Sharp Healthcare, San Diego; Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D. FACS, university chancellor, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, Neb.; Daniel A. Handel, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H., M.A.S., FACEP, CMO/executive medical director, Medical University of South Carolina Medical Center, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.; and Anthony P. Weiss, M.D., M.B.A., CMO, associate dean for clinical affairs, associate professor of psychiatry, SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, N.Y; Scott J. Ellner, D.O., M.P.H., MHCM, FACS, president and CEO, Centura Health Physician Group, Centennial, Colo.; Richard W. Freeman, M.D., FACP, chief clinical officer, Western Connecticut Health Network, Norwalk, Conn.,; M. Beatrice Grause, R.N., J.D., FACHE, president, Healthcare Association of New York State, Rensselaer, N.Y.; Thomas J. Hansen, M.D., M.B.A., FAAFP, chief academic officer, Advocate Health Care, Downers Grove, Ill.; Jeffrey T. Mueller, M.D., associate dean for hospital practice, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix; Christine M. Stabler, M.D., vice president of academic affairs, Lancaster General Health, Lancaster, Penn.; Patrice M. Weiss, M.D., FACOG, executive vice president and CMO, Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, Va.; Stephanie Wolf-Rosenblum, M.D., MMM, FCCP, FACP, CMO, Southern New Hampshire Health System and Granite Health Network, Nashua, N.H.; Steven I. Goldstein, president and CEO, Strong Partners Health System, Rochester, N.Y.; Marshall E. Hicks, M.D., professor and division head, division of diagnostic imaging, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, The University of Texas, Houston; Hal B. Jenson, M.D., M.B.A., founding dean, Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine and Borgess Health and Bronson Healthcare, Kalamazoo, Mich.; Allen Weiss, M.D., president and CEO, NCH Downtown Naples Hospital, Naples, Fla., serves as the AHA board representative to the CCL.


Contact:          Marie Johnson, (202) 626-2351

                        Colin Milligan, (202) 638-5491




About the AHA


The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at


Related Resources