Recovery Audit Contractor (RAC) Program - Contractor Information

This site contains resources regarding RAC contractors.

As required by The Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006, CMS has implemented Medicare recovery auditing in all states. CMS awarded contracts to four regional RACs (regions noted by A, B, C and D in the map).

Before they begin auditing hospitals in a state, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and the local RAC must conduct a hospital outreach session and the RAC must have a joint operating agreement with the CMS-contracted Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) or Fiscal Intermediary (FI) for that state. RAC audits are limited to those particular claims approved through CMS’ "new issue review" process, which are posted in advance on each of the four RAC websites. For RAC contact information, click a region below.


RAC Contact Information


RAC Regions

Sample RAC Correspondence

CMS Additional Documentation Request Policy
As of March 15, 2012