Event Format



Tue, Oct 26, 2021, 11:00 AM – Tue, Oct 26, 2021, 12:00 PM





Event Host

Contact Information

Kristin Oliver


Insights from the 2021 NOVA Award Winners

Tuesday, October 26, 2021 
12 – 1 p.m. Eastern; 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. Central; 9 – 10 a.m. Pacific



Each year, AHA honors five hospitals and health systems with the Dick Davidson NOVA Award. The award recognizes the collaborative work of hospitals and community organizations to improve the health status of individuals and communities through health care, economic or social initiatives. The 2021 honorees are CommonSpirit Health, Luminis Health, Memorial Health System, Providence, and Texas Health Resources. 

In this session, representatives from the winning organizations will discuss how they determined the most effective way to address the issues of homelessness, an aging population, behavioral health and substance use issues, lagging community wellness and the COVID-19 outbreak. The panelists will also address: 

  • Measuring their program’s impact 

  • Building relationships with community partners 

  • Maintaining support for these programs 

  • Lessons learned and advice for other community health leaders 


Michael J. Charlton 
AtlantiCare Health System 
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey 

Becky Wilkinson 
Outreach Program Manger 
Providence Behavioral Health 
Portland, Oregon 
David J. Tesmer, MPA 
Chief Community and Public Policy Officer 
Texas Health Resources 
Arlington, Texas 
Ji Im, MPH 
System Director, Community/Population Health 
CommonSpirit Health 
San Francisco, California 
Timothy Curtin 
Executive Director, Community Services 
Memorial healthcare System 
Hollywood, Florida 

Christine Crabbs, MS 
Director, Community Health 
Luminis Health 
Annapolis, Maryland