Date

Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 03:30 PM – Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 04:30 PM

Cost

Free

Type

Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

Kristin Oliver
3128952546

Open To

Non-members

Description

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

4:30 -5:30 p.m. Eastern; 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. Central; 1:30 -2:30 p.m. Pacific

Confronting the Burden of Firearm Injury: The Role of Clinicians

Firearm violence is a leading cause of premature death in the United States. According to 2017 CDC data, nearly 40,000 people in the U.S. died from firearm-related injuries. Kaiser Permanente recently announced plans to leverage its deep clinical experience and research capabilities to help tackle this issue.

Attendees Will Learn:

  • Populations most at risk of firearm-related deaths
  • How violence, firearms and health care intersect
  • Steps hospitals and staff can play to mitigate the risk of firearm injury
  • Research to identify evidence-based tools health care systems can use to prevent firearm injury and death

 

Speaker:
David Grossman, M.D.
Senior Investigator,
Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute

 

Moderator:
Priya Bathija
Vice President, Value Initiative
AHA