Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Sep 23, 2020, 01:00 PM – Wed, Sep 23, 2020, 02:00 PM

Cost

Free

Type

Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

Kristin Oliver
3128952546

Open To

Non-members

Description

Means Matter: How Hospitals Can Partner with Gun Owners to Prevent Firearm Suicide

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

2 - 3 p.m. Eastern; 1 - 2 p.m. Central; 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. Pacific

 

This webinar will present the science on why means matter when it comes to suicide; discuss non-controversial ways that the medical community and gun-owning community have worked together to prevent suicide; and discuss the specific role for hospitals in this work.

 

Catherine Barber, director of Means Matter at the Harvard Chan School of Public Health, co-authored the first CALM-Online training program and was a founding member of the first Gunshop Project.  Barber also led the pilot for what is now the National Violent Death Reporting System and wrote the nation's first suicide prevention module for firearm instructors, which supports her expertise in designing and using data from surveillance systems to guide prevention programs.

 

 

Speaker:
Catherine Barber
Senior Researcher / Director of Means Matter
Harvard Injury Control Research Center / Harvard Chan School of Public Health