Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 01:00 PM – Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 02:00 PM

Cost

Free

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Description

As proning becomes a familiar treatment method for patients during the COVID-19 pandemic, this webinar, sponsored by Hillrom, will review the need to prone patients diagnosed with acute respiratory distress syndrome. Jessica Montanaro, MSN, RN, Assistant Nursing Care Coordinator at Mt. Sinai and Neal Wiggermann, PhD, CPE, Research Scientist at Hillrom will share how one extraordinary care unit in New York worked to adjust their protocol during the COVID-19 pandemic. The second half of the webinar will provide a review of methods used to prone patients in the ICU. Methods will be explained and compared using illustrations and video. Considerations for each method will include staffing required, necessary equipment, safety for caregivers and relative risks for patients.

Join us for this free webinar on Wednesday, September 16 at 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT).

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) specific pathophysiology and how proning benefits patients diagnosed with ARDS
  • Review components of a prone protocol and necessary adjustments during the pandemic
  • Identify possible methods for proning patients in the ICU
  • Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of different proning methods, including safety considerations and the equipment and staffing required