Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Jul 14, 2021, 01:00 PM – Wed, Jul 14, 2021, 02:00 PM

Cost

Free for all

Type

Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Description

Wednesday, July 14 at 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT)

The nation’s adult population over age 65 is projected to reach 83.7 million by the year 2050, an increase from 21% of the population in 2012 to more than 39% in 2050. Age-Friendly health systems is an initiative of The John A. Hartford Foundation and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement in partnership with the American Hospital Association and the Catholic Health Association of the United States. The initiative is designed to meet the needs of older adults, looking beyond acute events, engaging the whole community, and achieving better health for older adults. By focusing on four key areas— what matters, medications, mobility and mentation we aim to improve patient care, safety and outcomes; improve patient and family engagement in care; and reduce length of stay and readmissions. This webinar will provide an overview of Rush University Medical Center’s journey of becoming an Age-Friendly Health System, the impact it has made on its patient population, along with the benefits and opportunities of how listeners can join upcoming Action Communities.

Learning Objectives:

  • Assess the need for health systems to become age-friendly
  • Review and apply the Age-friendly care model which focuses on implementing evidence-based strategies and practices across four core elements (improve patient care, safety and outcomes, improve patient and family engagement in care and reduce length of stay and readmissions)
  • Review the progress and challenges of the initiative at a site and hear about how your organization can become involved

Sponsored By