President Trump this morning signed a revised Executive Order prohibiting entry to the U.S. for 90 days for certain foreign nationals travelling on the passport of one of six nations, effective March 16, 2017. Today’s order replaces the EO signed on Jan. 27 to pause travel from six nations rather than the original seven – Sudan, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia and Yemen (foreign nationals from Iraq have been removed). The travel suspension does not apply to those who hold valid visas as of the March 16 effective date or lawful permanent residents of the United States (green card holders), and no visas will be revoked “solely based on this Executive Order,” according to a set of questions and answers issued by Department of Homeland Security. Individuals from the six countries who are in the U.S. can depart and re-enter if their visas are valid for entry on the date on which the re-entry is made. “Many American hospitals, health systems and patients depend on a global team of clinicians to deliver the care they need,” said AHA President and CEO Rick Pollack. “And international medical professionals rely on visas to provide the highest quality medical expertise. We appreciate the re-examination of the original executive order regarding green card and visa holders. However, we remain concerned by the new executive order’s implications on hospitals, health systems, medical professionals and patients. In particular, we believe the order could have a negative impact on international medical school graduates in our nation’s teaching hospitals in the upcoming academic year. Therefore, we recommend an immediate case-by-case waiver review for accepted residents from the six affected countries. We will continue to work with the Administration to ensure continued access to the global team that provides world class health care in America.”