The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum this week presented 2016 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards for individual achievement and for innovation at the national and local levels. Carolyn Clancy, M.D., deputy under secretary for the Department of Veterans Affairs and former director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, received the individual achievement award for her “passion and impact on patient safety and quality of care.” The I-PASS Study Group received the national innovation award for its work to standardize provider communication and handoffs of care. Christiana Care Health System received the local innovation award for its technology-driven care coordination program for Medicare beneficiaries and health plan members in the Delaware region.