The AHA’s Health Research & Educational Trust, now part of the AHA Center for Health Innovation, recently received the Robert L. Wears Patient Safety Leadership Award. Jay Bhatt, D.O, senior vice president and chief medical officer of the AHA, accepted the award on behalf of the AHA/HRET Hospital Improvement Innovation Network, during a presentation at the QSEN (Quality and Safety Education for Nurses) Institute Regional Center at Jacksonville University in Florida. The Wears Award honors individuals and organizations that significantly impact the field of patient safety through critical analysis, research, education or knowledge dissemination. The AHA/HRET HIIN, the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ largest HIIN, supports 34 hospital associations and more than 1,600 hospitals. It deploys networks of learning communities focused on clinical improvement across cross-cutting topic areas such as health disparities, patient and family engagement, clinician engagement, and diagnostic error; coaches quality leaders on performance improvement; and uses advance care teams to help hospitals and health systems rapidly improve quality and patient safety metrics. Visit for more information and free resources.

Related News Articles

Adam Boehler, senior advisor to the Health and Human Services Secretary, Centers for Medicare…
The AHA's American Society for Healthcare Engineering has announced the recipients of the 2019 Vista Awards, which were presented to three hospital teams for…
Sen. Roy Blunt, R-Mo., will speak at the AHA Annual Membership Meeting on April 8 in Washington, D.C.
Chairperson's File
Together, we have a chance to design coordinated systems of support for patients and their families – next-generation care that will build a nation of…
The Centers for Medicare…
Insights and Analysis
From left to right are Faith Mitchell, Star Cunningham and Brian Gragnolati.