Foster G. McGaw Prize: Winners and Finalists

In 1986, the Foster G. McGaw Prize was created to recognize hospitals that have distinguished themselves through efforts to improve the health and well-being of everyone in their communities.

Today, despite sweeping changes in the way health care is delivered, hospitals and their communities continue to forge strong partnerships to promote a healthier America.

2022* Winner:

Texas Health Resources Arlington, Texas

Read the press release. You can also read more about this year’s winner and finalists in the Foster G. McGaw Prize Honorees brochure.

*Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there were no prize honorees in 2020 and 2021.

2022 Finalists:

Adena Health System, Chillicothe, Ohio

MUSC Health, Charleston, South Carolina

UMass Memorial Medical Center, Worcester, Mass.

2019 Winner:

ProMedica Toledo, OH

Read the press release.

2019 Finalists:

Freeman Health System, Joplin, Mo.

Texas Health Resources, Arlington, Texas

UMass Memorial Medical Center, Worcester, Mass

2019 Foster G. McGaw Prize: An In-depth Look

2018 Winner:

Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health, Lancaster, PA

Read the press release.

2018 Finalists:

Memorial Hermann Health System  Houston, TX

Saint Francis Memorial Hospital  San Francisco, CA

Tanner Health System  Carrollton, GA

2017 Winner:

Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven, CT

Read the press release.

2017 Finalists:

Providence Health & Services in Portland, OR

Samaritan Health Services in Corvallis, OR

UMass Memorial Medical Center in Worcester, MA


2016 Winner:

Spectrum Health, Grand Rapids, MI

Read for the press release.

2016 Finalists:

Children's Health System of Texas
Dallas, TX

Toledo, OH

White Memorial Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

2015 Winner:

Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Click here for the press release.

Click here to view the winner's video.
Foster Winner Video

2015 Finalists:

Appleton, WI

Lancaster General Health/Penn Medicine
Lancaster, PA

St. Joseph Health, Queen of the Valley Medical Center
Napa, CA

See an archive of previous winners from 1986 to 2014.