Foster G. McGaw Prize

2023 Foster G. McGaw Prize Winner and Finalists Announced

Congratulations to 2023 Foster G. McGaw Prize Winner Memorial Hermann Health System of Houston. Memorial Hermann and Foster G. McGaw Prize finalists Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles; GBMC HealthCare, Baltimore; and Meritus Health, Hagerstown, Md., were recognized at the AHA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

To learn more about Memorial Hermann and the finalists, watch the celebratory video or download the honoree booklet.

NHM garden. A women works with children in a garden.

Apply Now for the 2024 Foster G. McGaw Prize

Celebrate your commitment to excellence in community service!

Does your organization improve community health and well-being through leadership and far-reaching community partnerships? The Foster G. McGaw Prize honors health delivery organizations that take a strategic approach to community health and health equity. Organizations should demonstrate alignment between community health needs and the initiatives they create. They also should have meaningful collaborations with a broad range of community organizations to address societal factors influencing health and improve access to care for historically marginalized communities.

The Foster G. McGaw Prize will honor one winner and three finalists in 2024. The winner will receive $100,000 and each finalist will receive $10,000.

Download the application here. Your completed application, including the application cover page and a table of contents, must be paginated and may not exceed more than 26 pages in length, single-sided. Please consolidate all application materials into one printable PDF using the following file name convention: OrganizationName_FGM24. Do not lock or apply protection to the PDF. If the file size exceeds 5MB, please use the reduce file size function in Adobe Acrobat Pro to reduce it.

Please email your application to by midnight, Wednesday, May 17, 2023. Applications will be acknowledged within one business day.

Questions? Please email

History of the Prize

In 1986, the Foster G. McGaw Prize was created to recognize hospitals that have distinguished themselves through efforts to improve the health and well-being of everyone in their communities.

Today, despite sweeping changes in the way health care is delivered, hospitals and their communities continue to forge strong partnerships to promote a healthier America.

The Baxter Foundation and the American Hospital Association founded the Foster G. McGaw Prize on the belief that the relationship between a hospital and its community is unique. We celebrate the winners and finalists of this award because they show us how people working together in hospitals and communities can enrich the environment in which they live.

About Baxter and the Baxter International Foundation

Every day, Baxter and the Baxter International Foundation strive to make a meaningful difference in the lives of people who depend on the company’s products, and in the communities where employees live and work. The Foundation helps advance Baxter’s mission to save and sustain lives by partnering with organizations around the world to increase access to healthcare for the underserved, develop the next generation of innovators who will lead the way in advancing healthcare and to create a positive, long-lasting impact in communities globally. For more information, please visit Baxter's Corporate Responsibility page.