Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 01:00 PM – Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 02:00 PM

Cost

Free for all

Type

Sponsored Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Description

Wednesday, March 10 at 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT)

Learn how to successfully implement change initiatives, especially within the patient safety framework, as it depends on an understanding of the barriers as well as the motivators of behavioral change among physicians. Jason Cheng, D.O., Safety and Human Factors Education Co-Chair from the Kaiser Permanente Health Systems Southern California Region will discuss how to improve physician engagement by facilitating healthy conversations around errors and mistakes with an emphasis on how both cognitive bias affects us on an individual level, and how system and teamwork failures affect us on a team level. By building simple processes to have healthy conversations that help us move past blame and shame, and also supporting physicians development to transition from being a clinical leader to a team leader, everyone — especially the patient — wins!

Learning Objectives:

  • Apply the Change Management Framework to empower physicians to become active leaders in your safety culture
  • Understand the role cognitive bias plays in human error, and how cultivating healthy conversations can help destigmatize errors and mistakes while also reducing shame and guilt
  • Understand how to reframe the paradigm of leadership, from clinical leader to team leader with key strategies for building psychological safety and team intelligence, which ultimately results in improved patient care and a foundation for resiliency

Sponsored By