Throughout the year, the AHA seeks to recognize the outstanding work taking place across America's hospitals and health systems, as well as the women and men helping to lead the field to new heights.

The following awards are sponsored by the AHA.

AHA Leadership Awards

AHA Leadership Awards include the Distinguished Service Award, Award of Honor, Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award, Board of Trustees Award, and Honorary Life Membership. Awards are presented in April at AHA's Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

The American Hospital Association Quest for Quality Prize

The goals of The American Hospital Association Quest for Quality Prize are to raise awareness of the value of hospital- and system-wide commitments to advancing health in America by providing access to exceptional quality, safe and patient-centered care that promotes individual and community well-being; showcase successful efforts to develop and promote new models of care, services and collaboration; inspire hospitals and systems to lead and partner with other community organizations improve health status; and recognize hospital and system leadership to improve quality, safety and community health status.


AHA NOVA Awards honor effective, collaborative programs focused on improving community health status.

Carolyn Boone Lewis Living the Vision Awards

The Carolyn Boone Lewis Living the Vision Awards are presented to organizations and individuals living AHA’s vision of “a society of healthy communities where all individuals reach their highest potential for health.”

Circle of Life Award Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care

The Circle of Life Award honors innovative programs in palliative and end-of-life care. All organizations or groups in the United States that provide palliative and/or end-of-life care are eligible for the award.

Equity of Care Award

The AHA’s Equity of Care Award is presented annually to hospitals or care systems that are noteworthy leaders and examples to the field in the area of equitable care. Honorees demonstrate a high level of success in reducing health care disparities and promote diversity in leadership and staff within their organization.

Foster G. McGaw Prize for Excellence in Community Service

The winners and finalists of the Foster G. McGaw Prize collectively paint a picture of creative, insightful, caring health delivery organizations that are exceptionally committed to improving the health and well-being of everyone in their communities. The Baxter International Foundation and the AHA sponsor the Foster G. McGaw Prize.

Hospital Awards For Volunteer Excellence

The Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE) program was established by the American Hospital Association Board of Trustees to help hospitals attract and retain volunteers by recognizing outstanding contributions of organized programs of volunteer service.

The Rural Hospital Leadership Award

The Rural Hospital Leadership Award recognizes small or rural hospital chief executives and administrators who have achieved improvements in local health delivery and health status through their leadership and direction.