Circle of Life Award: Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care

2023 Application Period is Open

Streamlined, Two-Part Application

Thank you for your interest in the Circle of Life Awards. To reduce the time needed to apply for the Circle of Life Awards, the 2023 application has two parts. Part 1 is focused on innovations, achievements and quality in palliative and end-of-life care. Applicants are asked to submit a maximum of 7 double-spaced pages in response to the questions in Part 1 by May 31, 2022. The Circle of Life Award Committee will review these submissions and invite a subset of applicants to complete Part 2, which requests additional details about the program as well as patient demographics and staffing information. Before starting a Part 1 application, please review Part 2 to ensure the requested data and information are available to be submitted.

Important Dates

  • May 31: Part 1 application due to
  • June 23 - 28: Applicants notified of invitations to complete Part 2. Applicants who are not selected to complete Part 2 also will be notified at this time.
  • August 15: Part 2 applications due to
  • September 26 – 28: Applicants selected for site visits will be notified.
  • May 2023: Circle of Life Award and Citation of Honor recipients will be notified.

2023 Applications

Download Part 1 of the 2023 Circle of Life Award Application

Download Part 2 of the 2023 Circle of Life Award Application

Additional information about the Circle of Life Award, including who should apply, assessing your readiness and sponsoring and funding organizations is available below.

Please contact with questions.

About the Award

Who Should Apply

The Circle of Life Award honors palliative and end-of-life care programs that:

  • Serve individuals with serious and life-limiting illness, their families, and their communities.
  • Demonstrate effective, patient/family-centered, timely, safe, efficient and equitable care to patients with serious and life-limiting illness.
  • Use innovative approaches to meeting critical needs and serve as sustainable, replicable models.
  • Pursue quality improvement consistent with the National Consensus Project (NCP) Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care, NHPCO Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs or other widely-accepted standards, within their resources and capabilities.
  • Address physical, psychosocial, spiritual, and cultural needs throughout the disease trajectory.


How do you know if your organization is ready to apply for a Circle of Life Award?

An innovative palliative or end-of-life care provider that is measuring and evaluating the impact of its work on patients, family, and/or the community is ready to apply for a Circle of Life award.

Honorees typically are:

  • emphasizing coordinated or integrated care delivery throughout all settings
  • engaging underserved populations
  • promoting palliative care in diverse populations
  • using strategies for engaging communities
  • creating partnerships with other health care organizations and practitioners, and initiatives within long-term care facilities.

Up to three Circle of Life Awards will be presented. The awards committee also may present Citations of Honor to other noteworthy programs.

Please contact Jane Jeffries (, director, Circle of Life Awards, with any questions.

The 2022 Circle of Life Awards: Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care are funded, in part, by the Cambia Health Foundation. Major sponsors of the 2022 awards are the American Hospital Association, the Catholic Health Association, and the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and National Hospice Foundation. The awards are cosponsored by the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, the Center to Advance Palliative Care, the Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association/the Hospice & Palliative Credentialing Center/the Hospice & Palliative Nurses Foundation and the National Association of Social Workers.